Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Workshops

OSU Libraries Workshops and Events
Request a Workshop

If you are interested in a workshop that is not on the current schedule, or if you would like to have a workshop delivered to a small group or a class, please contact Hannah Rempel (hannah.rempel@oregonstate.edu). We prefer two weeks notice for workshop requests. 

Citation Management Tools

EndNote

Receive an introduction to the citation management tool EndNote. Learn how to organize a library, import references from databases, create bibliographies, modify output styles and customize reference types.

LaTeX

Introduction to the typesetting system LaTeX. We will talk about the basic structure of a document, the typesetting of complex mathematical formulas, inclusion of figures, internal references, and the generation of bibliographies with BibTeX.

Mendeley

Learn to use Mendeley a "free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research."

Zotero

Intro workshop: Learn the basics about this free web-based citation management tool, which you can use to save citations and PDFs, as well as incorporate citations into a Word document. This introductory workshop covers how to set up a Zotero library, how to put citations into your library, how to use Word to cite as you go, and how to sync Zotero across multiple computers.

Intermediate/Advanced workshop: Learn more advanced features of this free web-based citation management tool. This advanced workshop covers how to store PDFs in Zotero, how to import and export from EndNote, how to add in more citation styles, how to use Zotero Groups and the options for using Zotero on mobile devices.

Data Collection, Management, and Analysis

Carpentries Data Organization in Spreadsheets

This hands-on workshop focuses on best practices for using spreadsheets as part of the researcher's data collection, analysis, and sharing activities including: managing common errors in spreadsheet data management, recommendations for spreadsheet QA/QC, and introducing Tidy Data Principles. 

Git: Version Control Systems

Beginner workshop: This workshop is an introduction to version control systems with Git. Version control systems are tools that keep track of the changes made on a document, and help version and merge files. They allow the user to decide which changes make up the next version, and keep useful data about them. Version control systems are usually used by developers and people who write code, but are very useful also for people working with documents in general. It is especially helpful for collaborative work with more than one person working on the same file. The Intro to Git workshop has two parts: beginner and advanced. Participants are welcome to come to only the beginner, only the advanced, or both. The beginner workshop is designed for people who have never used Git or a version control system before, and want to learn more about what version control systems can do for them and their research. It will be a hands-on workshop where we will create a repository, record changes to files, create a GitHub account, and synchronize the local and remote repositories. This workshop uses the command line to learn git, but no previous experience using command line is necessary. Participants are strongly encouraged to bring their own computer but classroom computers will be available. More information in https://osulp.github.io/workshop_intro_to_git/  

Advanced workshop: This advanced workshop is designed for people who already know the basic commands in Git, but are still not very comfortable with the tool. Having completed the beginner workshop is a good way of preparing for the advanced workshop. During the advanced workshop we will work collaboratively in a repository, solve conflicts, create branches, forks, and pull requests. This workshop uses the command line to learn git, but no previous experience using command line is necessary. Participants are strongly encouraged to bring their own computer but classroom computers will be available. More information in https://osulp.github.io/workshop_intro_to_git/. If you come to the advanced lesson but not to the beginner lesson please follow the instructions in https://osulp.github.io/git-advanced/setup.html to come prepared before the workshop.

MATLAB

This is an introductory workshop to Matlab for beginners. We will follow a shortened version of the Software Carpentry lesson “Programming with Matlab” (https://osulp.github.io/intro_to_matlab/). We will talk about reading data with Matlab and organize it in variables, vectors, and matrices. We will perform some basic operations on the data (mean, maximums, minimums) and will create some visualizations and save them. We will talk about writing Matlab scripts and functions, and we will write loops and conditional statements. You are encouraged to bring your own computer, but can use one of the class computers if needed. For information about setting up your computer for the workshop visit https://osulp.github.io/matlab-novice-inflammation/setup.html

Qualtrics

Intro workshop: Learn to collect survey data for your research using Qualtrics. Qualtrics is a powerful survey research tool (think Survey Monkey on steroids) available to all OSU faculty and students. It's easy, powerful and, best of all, IRB compliant.

Advanced workshop: Learn how to create more sophisticated surveys and data gathering strategies using Qualtrics. This advanced workshop covers survey flow (branching), piping text, using panels to distribute a survey to a specific group of people, triggers and using  libraries to store and reuse questions and surveys. ***Requirement: Introduction to Qualtrics or significant experience.***

Research and Writing

APA Workshop

Learn how to cite your sources using the new APA style manual (7th edition), how to cite sources in your text, and how to format a works cited list at the end of your document. We will also address some of the changes that have been made in the new edition.

Copyright and Fair Use in Research and Teaching

Copyright is intellectual property law that gives creators exclusive rights (for a limited time) to print, copy, publish, perform, film, or record original works that they have fixed in a tangible form. In this workshop we’ll describe copyright as well as exceptions to copyright including teaching and fair use exceptions. 

Literature Review 

Find out what the literature review is and how to get started, how to keep track of sources, searches and new research, and how to use library resources more effectively.

Publishing Tips - Where, When & How

Find out more about some key publishing strategies and tips including what to consider when choosing a journal to publish in, copyright and why it matters to you, impact factors and more!

PubMed & Medline Searching for Advanced Users

This workshop will cover using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), refining searches using limiters, tracking and saving your searches and linking out to articles available via OSU Libraries.

Web of Science:  Nuts, Bolts and Power Tools

This workshop will cover a brief overview of what is indexed in Web of Science, using the search interfaces for topic, author, source title, and address searching, expanding your literature search using the unique Related Records search, using cited reference searching to navigate the literature , how to use Refine, Analyze Results, Citation Reporting, and Citation Maps, how to connect to full text from Web of Science, and tools available in Web of Science for managing your search process.