It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The ComAbstracts database contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field. No other electronic resource on the world wide web provides more comprehensive coverage of the communication discipline's scholarship. Coverage Dates: 1982 - present
A custom collection of more than 250 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field: key subjects covered include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature. Coverage Dates: 1980 - present
Launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press in collaboration with the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at John Hopkins University, Project MUSE is an interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals. Coverage Dates: - Varies by journal
An index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Coverage is from 1926-present.
An archival collection of journal articles that includes over 140 titles in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. It does not provide access to the most current issues of the journals. JSTOR's agreements with publishers include a gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years. OSU Libraries subscribes to Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Ecology & Botany and the Health & General Science Collections. Full Text: Dates vary by journal
Other Databases to Try
The following more general databases may also prove useful to you.
Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions; updated daily.
Coverage Dates: 1980 - present
Index to journal articles, series and books for all areas of psychology including animal, applied, clinical, developmental, educational, general, human experimental, general, physiological, social and sport psychology, and treatment and prevention. Coverage Dates: 1887 - present
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center pulls together background information and pro & con viewpoints about current social issues. The database includes:
Nearly 7,000 viewpoint articles, 41 complete titles from the Information Plus reference program, more than 275 primary documents, 300 biographies of social activists and reformers,nearly 5,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs
Nearly 4,600 topic overviews that provide context for the issues, more than 775 court-case overviews, 334 profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups, 2,000 links to reviewed and subject-indexed Web sites, more than 1,300 images, all hand-selected to support the topics covered, more than 135 full-text periodicals and newspapers, podcasts from the Weekly Presidential Radio Address.
Coverage Dates: 1981 -
Comprehensive index to newspaper and magazine articles, radio and TV news program transcripts, legal material and other reference sources. Primarily focused on news, business and legal topics. Includes Hot Topics Links, useful for researching today's front page news. Coverage Dates: - Varies by title