LibGuides: *Rhetoric & Writing: Find Articles

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Index to research articles, government and independent reports and conference papers covering all areas of education at all levels.
Coverage Dates: 1966 - present

Education Research Complete
Education journals and books.
Coverage Dates: - Varies by title
Linguistic and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Coverage Dates: 1973 - present

CompPile This link opens in a new window
Publications in post-secondary composition, rhetoric, technical writing, ESL and discourse studies. 1939-present
Coverage Dates: 1939 - present

WAC Clearinghouse (Writing Across the Curriculum)
The WAC Clearinghouse, in partnership with the International Network of Writing Across the Curriculum Programs, publishes open-access journals, books, and other resources for teachers who use writing in their courses.
MLA International Bibliography
Books, articles, and dissertations on rhetoric and writing and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature.
Coverage Dates: 1926 - present
Project Muse
Launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press in collaboration with the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at John Hopkins University, Project MUSE is an interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.

Concurrent Users: unlimited
Coverage Dates: - Varies by journal
Google Scholar
Uses the Google search engine to search for scholarly materials from around the world such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Some articles are available in full-text through links to OSU's journal subscriptions.
You can set up Google Scholar so it checks to see if we have a journal article here. Go to Google Scholar preferences for instructions.

Coverage Dates: coverage range - unknown
Web of Science
The web version of Science Citation Index (SCI) and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Science Citation Index 1970-present
Social Science Citation Index 1970-present

Concurrent Users: unlimited
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present

Scholarly Journals in Rhetoric and Writing

Across the Disciplines Online from 2004

College Composition and Communication - Online from 2/1/1990-present; Print, v.22 (1971-present) PE1001.C6

College English - Online from V.1 (1939)-present

Composition Studies - Online from 3/1/2004-present; Print, v. 34 (20060-v 37 (2009), PE1404 .C6256 & online

Computers and Composition - Online from 1/1/1995-present; Print, v. 16 (1999) - v. 22 (2005) LB1576.7 .C61

English Journal - Online from 1/1/1986-present; Print, v.31 (1942-present), PE1.E581

JAC: A Journal of Composition Theory - Some issues available online; Print v.15 (1995- 2008), PE1001 .J681

Journal of Basic Writing - Online from 2004; Print from v. 9 (1990-2009), PE1404.J68

Kairos: A Journal of Rhetoric, Technology & Pedagogy - Online from 1996 Volume 1

Language Arts - Online from 1997; Print, v.52 (1975-present), L11.E5

Oregon English Journal - Print, v. 13 (1991-present), LB1576 .O755

Research in the Teaching of English - Online from v.1 (1967-present)

Rhetorica -Online from 1983 volume: 1 issue: 1 - present

Rhetoric Review - Online from 1982 volume: 1 issue: 1; - present

RSQ Rhetoric Society Quarterly - Online from 1976 Volume 6 - present

Teaching English in the Two-Year College - Online from 2/1/1996-present; Print, v.29 (2001-present), PE1065.T4

TESOL Quarterly - Online from 1/1/1996-present; Print. v.1 (1967-present), PE1001.T3

Voices from the Middle - Online from 2/1/1995-present; Print, v.31 (2006-present), LB1631 .V65

The WAC Journal - Online from Volume 1

Written Communication - Online from 1999-present; Print, v. 8 (1991-present), P211.W737

Libraries

*Rhetoric & Writing

Librarian

Recommended Databases

Scholarly Journals in Rhetoric and Writing

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches