Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

H 320: Introduction to Human Disease

This guide provides health information sources used to complete H320 assignments

Overview

The modules on this page will teach you how to use one good scholarly article to find other related scholarly articles.

You can use the example articles shown to try the process for yourself or use a scholarly article you already have for a project you are currently working on.

Look at this example to see what this looks like in action.

More Database Tools

While this tutorial focuses on Web of Science and Google Scholar, some subject databases also offer options to find newer, cited sources. Look for links like "Cited by" or "Times Cited" when using your favorite database.  Here are a just a few that have this feature.

  • PsycInfo ("cited by")
  • Sociologial Abstracts ("cited by")
  • SciFinder ("get citing")

Full "Related Sources" Tutorial

The modules on this page are part of a bigger tutorial call "Work Smarter: Use One Good Article to Find Others." To view the full tutorial, use this link:http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/work-smarter

Starting Article

In this tutorial, our topic is college students' use of social networking sites. The starting scholarly article is shown below. The citation for this article can be found in a number of library databases and other search tools including 1Search, Academic Search Premier, ERIC, Google Scholar, and Web of Science.

sample academic journal article with title circled

 

Whatever your topic, the key to finding several good related sources is to find one good starting source.

Finding Older Articles Using Our Starting Article

Any reader of a scholarly article can indentify the foundation for that work by looking at the article's References or Works Cited section. The items in the References or Works Cited section are also called "cited references"  meaning that the author(s) of the article we are looking at cited these references in his or her own article because of their importance and relevance to the topic. Cited references are always older than the current article so we can refer to this as "looking backward." We can look backward beginning with our starting article  (pictured below) and identify articles in the References or Works Cited section that we should consider reading given their relevance to our interest in online identity.

image shows a sample academic article

image shows example from a reference page

 

Looking backward into the References section of the starting scholarly article by Tiffany Pempek and her colleagues, we can identify a scholarly article (older, as it was published in 2004) that also addresses online identity, a concept that Pempek and her colleagues discuss. This older article by S.R. Stern addresses online identity in the time before social networking sites became popular and thus provides some historical context and research regarding online identity. This older article is providing part of the foundation for the newer research conducted by Tiffany Pempek and her colleagues.

 

Looking for Newer Articles Using Online Tools

Unlike looking backward for older articles (where we can look at the References section of the article itself), we have no way of looking at our starting article and finding newer, related articles without the use of some online tools to help us. This does make sense if we stop and think about it. At the time an article is published, there is no way to know what other researchers will eventually find it and include it in their reference lists.

For us this means that we need to use online tools to help us "look foward". We'll do this using the Web of Science (once again...such a useful database) and Google Scholar.

  • The image below is of the full record for our starting article in the Web of Science database. Note that off to the right side of the full record, there is also a link called Times Cited. That link provides the list of newer items that include our starting article in their References lists.

web of science times cited link

  • The image below is of the record for our starting article in Google Scholar, which uses the link "Cited by" instead of "Times Cited" like in Web of Science. The "Cited by" link provides the list of newer items that include our starting article in their References lists.

google scholar "cited by" link

Note the difference in the number of newer items that Web of Science and Google Scholar link out to. Each tool covers a different set of journals and Google Scholar includes books (Web of Science tends not to include books in its Times Cited numbers).