Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HORT & ENT 331: Pollinators in Peril

Library resources for your class.

Finding Scientific Sources

There are many routes you can use to find scientific research articles (aka - scholarly articles, peer reviewed articles, journal articles or original research articles). This guide will give you options for several of those routes.

1. If you have a topic, but no specific articles in mind - start with the databases suggested on this page.

2. If you have the names of some specific sources, but don't have the full-text. Use 1Search to look for the title.

3. If you want to find specific kinds of sources, like review articles, or want to see who has cited a really good article you have - look at the tips on the Advanced Search page.

 

Recommended Databases for HORT 331

It can be helpful to use a database that is more targeted to your field.  Search these databases to find original research articles, conference proceedings, and other scholarly sources relevant to researchers in horticulture. In addition it can be a good idea to search for sources via broad, multidisciplinary search tools like 1Search or Google Scholar.

Tips for Searching in Library Databases

The most effective way to search the online databases is to enter terms or keywords that effectively describe your topic.

  • Use broad, meaningful keywords when you search. Don't use sentences or phrases.
  • Use just a few keywords (1-3). You can always add keywords later if you need to refine your search.
  • Use the facets or limits to help refine your search. For example, you can narrow your search by date or by geographic region.
  • When you review your results, look at the abstracts or subject headings for other keywords you can use to improve your search.
  • Be prepared to do several searches. Research is a process that takes time.

 

Finding the Full Text of an Article

 Look for the 360 link to full text button to open the full article.

Options for getting to the PDF will open in a new window. Sometimes the link will take you to the journal, not the individual article. Use the citation information for the article to get to the right year, volume and issue of the journal.

If the library doesn't have it, request the article for free from Interlibrary Loan: https://library.oregonstate.edu/illiad On average, articles arrive digitally in 13 hours.

Find a Specific Article Title at the OSU Libraries

Find books, online scholarly articles or newspaper articles that OSU subscribes to.  If you need to find specific items, such as books by a particular author, use the advanced search option for more precise searching. Access 1Search from the library's home page.

1Search search bar showing two links: Databases A through Z and eJournals A through Z

 

Don't Forget to Try Google Scholar

Google Scholar

You do allow embedded content.

With Google Scholar you can search broadly (across several disciplines) with one search.  You can use Google Scholar to find peer-reviewed articles, but you will also find pre-print copies of articles, conference papers, white papers, patents, legal opinions and more.

  1.  Before you start -- go to Scholar Preferences (click the settings icon in the upper right corner), click on Library Links on the left-hand menu, and enter Oregon State University in the Library Links field. Save your preferences.
  2. Enter your keywords in the search box.
  3. Browse results, making sure to use the library's subscriptions to get access the text of the articles where you can.Use the Get This Item at OSU link on the left to access the article.