- Borrow & Request
- Meet & Study Here
- Tech & Print
A tutorial that helps you identify the parts of a scholarly article.
The most effective way to search the online databases is to enter terms or keywords that effectively describe your topic.
The primary tool for discovering journal articles for your research are the library databases. General databases such as Academic Search Premier can be very useful, particularly in the initial stages of your searches, for they contain a great many full-text journals covering many different subjects. There are also more specialized databases for particular aspects of HDFS such as aging, health, and psychology. Here are a few suggestions out of the many that we have.
Online databases are a good place to start when you are searching for articles -- especially scholarly and peer-reviewed articles. Databases are searchable collections of research and other articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. You can search for articles by topic or, if you already know the information, by author or title.
Databases often include the full text of their articles, which allows you to read an article online, download it, or print a copy. Not all articles in a database include the article's full text.
When searching in catalogs and databases:
Once you find your article's entry in a database, check whether the database provides the full-text article. If it does, the database will provide a link to a "full-text PDF", "full text available online", or something similar.
If the database doesn't provide a full-text article, click on the FindIt@OSU button to see if OSU subscribes to the electronic or the paper copy of the journal. FindIt@OSU will open a new window and will display a link to full-text when available. If not, request the article from Interlibrary Loan
121 The Valley Library
Corvallis OR 97331–4501