Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BI/FW 421/521: Aquatic Biological Invasions

Information resources useful to conduct research on introduced species - their biology and their emerging economic, social and cultural impacts.

Basic Databases

Try these databases and search resources to get started. 

Fisheries & Wildlife Databases

These are more specific to  fisheries and wildlife information than the general science ones above.  That makes them more efficient to search for information related to fish and wildlife topics.

Finding social & political information

In addition to the biological information, you will need to find economic and statistical information, and even political and social commentary for the case study.

  • Google Scholar
    • Useful to ferret out government reports. At times, Google will be better for Management Council and State Fisheries Program information.
    • Coverage Dates: Unknown (Google doesn't share that info)
  • LexisNexis Academic
    • Great for access to newspaper and magazine articles, radio and TV news program transcripts, legal material and other reference sources.
    • Coverage Dates: Varies by title
  • Green File
    • Focused on information about the relationship of human beings and the environment.
    • Coverage Dates: mid-1960s - present
  • PAIS
    • Covers a broad array of public policy subjects including international releations, science and technology and social conditions.
    • Coverage Dates:  1915 - present

Finding the full text of an article

 Look for the 360 link to full text button to open the full article.

Options for getting to the PDF will open in a new window. Sometimes the link will take you to the journal, not the individual article. Use the citation information for the article to get to the right year, volume and issue of the journal.

If the library doesn't have it, request the article for free from Interlibrary Loan: https://library.oregonstate.edu/ill