Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANS 420: Ethical Issues in Animal Agriculture

Find Books at OSU

Use 1Search from the library's home page to search for books in the Valley Library, OSU branch libraries, and Summit Libraries.

Animal and Rangeland Science materials generally fall into the "Q" and  "S" call number range and are located on the 1st floor of The Valley Library.

Limit to items in the OSU Libraries (Library Catalog)

Choose the At OSU Libraries only scope to search all of the OSU Libraries collections. This includes Guin, Vet Med, and OSU Cascades. This option is available after you enter your initial search terms.

How do I find ebooks?

To search for an ebook, type in the title of the ebook

Click on the Online Access link to access the content.

If you are in the full record, click on View Full Text in the View It section.

How do I find ebooks

How do I get a book from another library?

You can request a book from another library if the OSU Libraries' copy is out or if we don't own a copy.

If the availability of the items says Request this Item, that means we either do not own the item or it is currently checked out.

Click on Request this item

  • If the book is available in Summit (our Washington-Oregon-Idaho consortium), you will see a Place Summit request link in the Get It section. Click on the link and select a pick-up location.
  • If the book is not available in Summit, you will see a link to place an Interlibrary Loan request. Click on the link to place the request in your Interlibrary Loan account.
  • Sometimes you may see a Get it link instead, click on the link to request the resource.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Agricultural and Environmental Science
S411 .T76 2003

Dictionary of Agriculture from Abaca to Zoonosis
A practical, easy-to-use guide to thousands of terms associated with agriculture.
S411 .L55 1995

Also available online

World Dictionary of Livestock Breeds, Types and Varieties (5th ed.)
SF21 .M3851 2002
Lists standard and exotic breeds of farm livestock.

Encyclopedia of Agricultural Science
S411 .E713 1994
Compilation of short articles by noted agricultural scientist covering all areas of agriculture, including animal science.

Handbooks

Nutrient Requirements of Domestic Animals
Series of reports published approximately every 10 years by the National Research Council on the nutrient requirements of farm animals. You may be able to access online versions by going to the National Academies Press website.

Beef Cattle (7th edition, 2000)
SF203 .N88 2000
Accompanying CD labeled as 8th rev. ed.

Dairy Cattle (7th edition, 2001)
SF203 .N831 2001

Horses (6th revised edition, 2007)
Vet Med SF285.5 .N37 2007

Poultry (9th revised edition)
SF494 .N871 1994

Small Ruminants (sheep, goats, cervids, camelids)
SF95 .N78 2007

Swine (10th revised edition, 1998)
SF396.5 .N87 1998

Dissertations

OSU theses on Animal & Rangeland Sciences can be found online via ScholarsArchive

To learn more about finding theses or dissertations, check out this dissertation guide.