Skip to main content

Maps

Guide to the OSU Libraries map and aerial photography collection.

What's in the Maps collection?

The 3rd floor Maps area is where the general circulating maps are located. Most cases are unlocked, and you can look for the maps you need yourself. Some of the maps in this area are in 1Search, but others are only listed in the physical Map Room card catalog, so you may need to look for call numbers in both places. Assistance with these can be obtained from the Information Desk on the main floor.

Collections in Maps area, 3rd floor

Location: 3rd Floor Maps [map]

Topographic Maps

  • U.S. Geological Survey 7.5' topographic maps ('topos') are arranged alphabetically by the name of the sheet within the appropriate state. To find the name of the sheet, you must use the topo map indexes for the state (on Reference table near the collection). Folders are indexed on the cards inside the lid of each case.
  • Special editions of national park topos are arranged by call numbers. To find the call numbers, look up the park by name in  1Search.
  • Be aware that these maps are a legacy collection; except in special cases paper maps are no longer updated. The official US Topo Quadrangle maps are now online, and are updated every 3 years. The previous online (legacy) quads are then moved into the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • USGS New FactSheet on USTopo online map collectionhttps://pubs.usgs.gov/fs/2017/3045/fs20173045.pdf

AMS Series: Army Map Service Topographic Map Series / U.S. Army Map Service Historic collection

  • The Army Map Service (AMS) of the US Army Corps of Engineers, was the premier map making agency of the US Department of Defense from 1941-1968. The major task of the AMS was the compilation, publication and distribution of military topographic maps and related products required by the Armed Forces of the United States.
  • Maps are of historical significance: dating primarily from the 1940s and 1950s, they provide excellent detail of areas of military concern. Excellent for locating tiny villages, finding islands which are not named or visible in other sources, and rich in topographic detail.
  • Kept in locked cases on the south wall; index maps in atlas case against nautical charts (west side). Cases can only be accessed by request through SCARC [email: scarc@oregonstate.edu; (541) 737-2075; Normal Operating Hours: 8:30-5:00, Mon-Fri]
  • Online versions: Perry-Casteneda Library at the University of Texas has digitized these maps and placed them online at http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/ams/  Project described in the FDLP's Digitization Projects Registry

USGS Geological Maps Series

   Location: Planfiles (vertical storage) cases 3-12; arranged by series number within the call number range. All should have a record in the physical and/or the online catalogs.

  • Geologic Quadrangle Maps    G3701.C5 svar U51 GQ-
  • Hydrologic Investigations Atlas  (HA)   G3701.C3 svar U5 HA-
  • Miscellaneous Geologic Investigations  (I)     G3701.C5 svar U52 I-
  • Miscellaneous Field Studies  (MF)   G3701.C5 svar U5 MF-
  • Land Management Maps (BLM)--Surface Management Maps; Surface and Mineral Management Maps   G3701.G45 s100 U5L3 [name]
  • Coal Investigations (C)   G3701 H9 svar U5 C-

Maps Case Contents (3rd Floor)

 

Case

Call Number Start

Call Number End

1

G3180

G3351

2

G3380

G3701.C1 s100 G4 Au

3

G3701.C1 s100 G4 Aur

G3701.C3 svar U5 HA-17

4

G3701.C3 svar U5 HA-18

G3701.C5 svar U5 MF-483

5

G3701.C5 svar U5 MF-484

G3701.C5 svar U5 MF-1791

6

G3701.C5 svar U5 MF-1792

G3701.C5 svar U51 GQ976

7

G3701.C5 svar U51 GQ-977

G3701.C5 svar U52 I-784P

8

G3701.C5 svar U52 I-784Q

G3701.C5 svar U52 I-1377

9

G3701.C5 svar U52 I-1378

G3701.C5 svar U53 SIM-2912

10

G3701.C55 1962 U5G4

G3701.G46 s100 U5L3 Gr

11

G3701.G46 s100 U5L3 Gr

G3701.H9 svar U5 C-136A

12

G3701.H9 svar U5 C137

G4181 P2 1987 S6

13

G4182

G4262

14

G4263

G4284

OREGON MAPS (G4290-G4294)

15

G4290

G4291.G5 s63 U5L3 O

16

G4291.G5 s63 U5L3 P

G4292 L

17

G4292 M

G4292 W52

18

G4292 W53

G4294 C

19

G4294 D

G4331 E

20

G4331 G

G4364 K

21

G4364 L

G4374

22

G4380

G5695

23

G5700

G5980

24

G6000

G7402

25

G7420

G8261

26

G8300

G9900

 

Nautical Charts (near windows on west wall)

78

DMA nautical charts (start)  (Defense Mapping Agency; world coverage)

G3201 P5 svar D4M3

79

DMA nautical charts (end)

G3201 P5 svar D4M3

80

NOAA nautical charts  (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration; US/Canada coverage)

G3701 P5 svar N303

 

 

7.5-minute TOPO MAPS (by state)

 27 

OR

 28 

AL – AZ

 29 

AZ – CA

 30 

CA – ID

 31 

ID – KY

 32 

KY – MS

 33 

MS – NE

 34 

NE – NM

 35 

NY – OK

 36 

PA – TX

 37 

TX - VA

 38 

WA - WY

 39 

Historic Topos AK-TX

 40 

Historic Topos TX-WY

 

 

 

Map Media Collections, 5th floor

Location: 5th Floor, Valley Media

Oregon Digital Orthophoto Quadrangles

  • Digital orthophoto quads (DOQs) are available for all of Oregon. The CD-ROMs in this 526 CD set are available on the 5th floor in Valley Media, call number G4291 .A4 s24 .O72. To determine which CD(s) to check out for a particular area, use the online index. The index is searchable by place name or longitude/latitude coordinates.

USGS National Elevation Dataset (NED)

  • The USGS Digital Elevation Model (DEM) data files that make up the National Elevation dataset are available for all of the conterminous United States, Alaska and Hawaii. The CD-ROMs in this 73 CD set are located on the 5th floor in the Valley Media section, call number G3701.C2 N38 2002