LibGuides: *Ethnic Studies: Multicultural Archival Resources

Oregon Multicultural Archives

The Oregon Multicultural Archives (OMA) assists in preserving the histories and sharing the stories that document Oregon's African American, Asian American, Latino/a, and Native American communities. The diverse collections reflect how these communities have contributed to the identity of the state of Oregon.

For up-to-date information regarding current projects, new collections, recently digitized materials, et. al., follow the OMA Blog.
For online items, check out the OMA digital resources page.
To set up a research appointment, contact Natalia Fernández via email or phone - natalia.fernandez@oregonstate.edu 541-737-3653

Wondering where to start historical research?

Does starting your research seem a little daunting? Need a little help picking a place to start? We have some ideas to get you started...

Find infromation about researching at OSU on our Reference Services page. The online tutorials and guides on this page pull together all our research resources and let you know what to expect when you come to do research.
Look through our digital resources page to our digital collections and guides.
How to do it? Researching at the Special Collections & Archives Research Center is a Flickr-based tutorial that guides you through the motions doing research in our collections.

Digital archival resources

Latino Cultures in the US - Created by Google Arts & Culture, this is one of the largest digital collections of Latinx art, culture, and history.

Indian Claims Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A research tool that provides searchable text for Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims. Content includes decisions, transcripts, journals of the Indian Claims Commission, related statutes and congressional publications, and more.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Openly Available Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
The Black Freedom Struggle website includes more than 2,000 documents curated around six crucial phases of the U.S. Black freedom struggle:

Resistance to slavery by enslaved persons and the abolitionist movement of the 19th century
The end of slavery during the Civil War and the Reconstruction Era
The fight against Jim Crow segregation
The New Deal and World War II
The Civil Rights Movement and Black Power Movement from 1946-1975
…and the contemporary Black experience since 1976.
Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest History Vault's coverage of the Black Freedom Struggle includes digitized primary source collections of the US government and organization records related to the Civil Rights Movement, the NAACP, the African American Police League, Southern Life and Slavery, with some content leading up to the Civil War. Collections include Working Women in WWII, Women’s Organizations, Union Records, Indigenous Americans, Temperance and Prohibition, the Children’s Bureau, the War Relocation Authority, Truman and Eisenhower Administrations, FBI Files, and Vietnam War Policy.

Libraries

*Ethnic Studies

Oregon Multicultural Archives

Wondering where to start historical research?

Digital archival resources

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches