LibGuides: History 315: The European Military, 1400-1815: Find Articles and Secondary Sources

Find Scholarly Journal Articles

America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly citations and articles covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Type chem* to find the words chemist and chemical. Use quotes, "Linus Pauling", so the terms are searched as a phrase. Can limit by language (recommended). Can limit by Historical Period.
Coverage Dates: 1964 -

In general, start your searching with just one or two keywords. Add more as needed.
Be sure to try your topic in more than one database.
Read citations and abstracts to get ideas of different keywords to represent your topic.
If the full text of the article, is not available, click to check if OSU subscribes to the journal or to place an interlibrary loan request (ILL).

Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly citations and articles covering world history. Type chem* to find the words chemist and chemical. Use quotes, "Linus Pauling", so the terms are searched as a phrase. Can limit by language (recommended). Can limit by Historical Period.
Coverage Dates: 1955 - present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary archival collection of full-text scholarly journal articles. Type chem* to find the words chemist and chemical. Use quotes, "whooping cough", so the terms are searched as a phrase. Under the advanced search, check mark articles to limit to scholarly articles.
Coverage Dates: - Varies by Journal
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press in collaboration with the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at John Hopkins University, Project MUSE is an interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.

Finding Books

Use 1Search to find books located at OSU Libraries. While OSU is under remote instruction, OSU Libraries is purchasing and borrowing books as we can.

Home delivery of print books, while OSU is teaching remotely for all campus courses. Yes, this means mailing of print books (when available and when we can't get as an ebook) to your home.

Tip! Use the date limits in 1Search and elsewhere to see if there are materials published during the time your are studying.

Google Books: Use the advanced search and limit by publication date, full view, and public domain to find primary sources.

Libraries

History 315: The European Military, 1400-1815

Find Scholarly Journal Articles

Finding Books

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches