- Borrow & Request
- Meet & Study Here
- Tech & Print
Receive an introduction to the citation management tool EndNote. Learn how to organize a library, import references from databases, create bibliographies, modify output styles and customize reference types.
Learn about this new (and free) web-based citation management tool, which you can use to save citations and pdfs, as well as incorporate citations into a Word document.
Learn to use Mendeley a "free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research."
Intro to LaTeX
Introduction to the typesetting system LaTeX. We will talk about the basic structure of a document, the typesetting of complex mathematical formulas, inclusion of figures, internal references, and the generation of bibliographies with BibTeX.
Research Overview & Library Tools
Literature Review Workshop
Find out what the literature review is and how to get started, how to keep track of sources, searches and new research, and how to use library resources more effectively.
Web of Science: Nuts, Bolts and Power Tools
This workshop will cover a brief overview of what is indexed in Web of Science, using the search interfaces for topic, author, source title, and address searching, expanding your literature search using the unique Related Records search, using cited reference searching to navigate the literature , how to use Refine, Analyze Results, Citation Reporting, and Citation Maps, how to connect to full text from Web of Science, and tools available in Web of Science for managing your search process.
Manage Your Research Data
Learn basic strategies to manage your research data. We will talk about best practices for organizing your data, including file formats and naming conventions; storage and backup; archiving, preserving and sharing your data;and metadata and metadata standards. We will also talk about tools to write a data management plan.
Spreadsheet Best Practices for Research
This hands-on workshop focuses on best practices for using spreadsheets as part of the researcher’s data collection, analysis, and sharing activities including: managing common errors in spreadsheet data management, recommendations for spreadsheet QA/QC, and introducing Tidy Data Principles.
Cited Reference Searching: From the Classic to the Cutting Edge
Find out how "cited reference" searching can help you be a better researcher. Learn how to do a cited reference search using the Web of Science service as well as other options.
Are you interested in determining the average age at which men versus women begin smoking? What if you need to know whether age at marriage differs between your region of the country and other regions, or about differences in political attitudes based on age, gender, education, race, or ethnicity? These and countless other questions can be answered by studies in the ICPSR data holdings. ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) is the world's largest collection of digital social science data - www.icpsr.umich.edu. ICPSR data cover topics from sociology, political science, economics, demography, education, child care, health care, crime, minority populations, aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, and international relations. This workshop can help you to increase your skills at searching, downloading and analyzing ICPSR data, or simply let you become more familiar with what ICPSR has to offer.
PubMed & Medline Searching for Advanced Users
This workshop will cover using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), refining searches using limiters, tracking and saving your searches and linking out to articles available via OSU Libraries.
Learn how to cite your sources using the new APA style manual (6th edition), how to cite sources in your text, and how to format a works cited list at the end of your document. We will also address some of the changes that have been made in the new edition.
Intro to Qualtrics - Making Great Surveys
If you will be doing research that involves collecting survey data, then you'll want to learn about Qualtrics. Qualtrics is a powerful survey research tool (think Survey Monkey on steroids) available to all OSU faculty and students. It's easy, powerful and, best of all, IRB compliant.
Learn how to create more sophisticated surveys and data gathering strategies using Qualtrics. We will cover survey flow (branching), piping text, using panels to distribute a survey to a specific group of people, triggers and using libraries to store and reuse questions and surveys. Requirement: Introduction to Qualtrics or significant experience.
Digital Humanities 101
Whether you’ve begun to dabble in the Digital Humanities (DH) or have never heard of it, this workshop provides a brief introduction and broad overview to common threads encompassing DH. During this session, you will learn about Digital Collections, Digital Editions, Texts and Text Encoding, Text Mining and Analysis, and Data Analysis and Visualization. You will also learn about some tools you might use to get started with your own DH project.
NIH and OSU Open Access Policies
Learn the basic terms and conditions of the NIH public access and OSU open access policies, the deposit requirements for each policy and how to submit your articles.
Statistics Basics with SPSS
This hands-on SPSS workshop will cover the basics of SPSS - including opening different file types into SPSS, manipulating and transforming data, and running basic descriptives. If time permits, t-tests and chi-square will also be covered. Those who have had limited or no experience using SPSS should attend this workshop.
This intermediate SPSS workshop will cover how to run ANOVAs, repeated measures ANOVAs, linear regression, and non-parametric tests in SPSS. It is for those who already have some experience with SPSS, such as having attended Statistics Basics with SPSS.
Intro to Git
An introduction to version control systems with Git. This workshop is designed for people who have never used Git or a version control system before, and want to learn more about what version control systems can do for them and their research. It will be a hands-on workshop where we will create a GitHub account, and code together to learn the basic flow of Git from the command line.
Publishing Tips - Where, When & How
Find out more about some key publishing strategies and tips including what to consider when choosing a journal to publish in, copyright and why it matters to you, impact factors and more!
Author's Rights Workshop
This hands-on workshop will help participants make smart decisions about the rights they turn over to publishers. Participants will come away from the workshop with a better understanding of the language used in copyright transfer agreements, how they can negotiate changes with the publisher, and why retaining rights matters.
The workshop is intended for both graduate students preparing to publish as well as faculty.
Thesis & Dissertations: Your Rights & Responsibilities
The Graduate School and OSU Libraries team up to bring you the information you need as you prepare to submit your thesis or dissertation for final approval. The Graduate School Thesis Editor will walk you through the thesis and dissertation submission requirements and answer questions about thesis formatting, deadlines and other issues. The Digital Scholarship Librarian will share the latest information regarding the fair use of copyrighted materials in your research, your rights as an author and the implications of making your work openly available via ScholarsArchive@OSU.
Thesis Savvy: Fair Use & Authors Rights
Wondering about using someone else's image or table in your thesis? Unsure about whether or not you have to ask permission? Want to use your own previously published article in your dissertation? This session will provide you with a basic understanding of your rights as both a creator and user of copyrighted material. Find out why thesis and dissertation authors are often free to make use of someone else's work without asking permission and how you can ensure you retain the rights you need when you publish with a journal.
Showing Your Research with Impact Metrics
Do you feel pressure to defend the importance of your research? Or do you see the Web as an opportunity to increase the visibility of your research but are frustrated about how to do it? This one-hour long workshop will introduce quantitative measures for scholarly impact (e.g., citation, altmetrics, and h-index), open access initiatives (OA), and their correlation. The participants will also learn how to use social media and an institutional repository (IR) to boost and record the influence of their work.
Keeping Up with Online Tools
Moving Away from Paper: Useful Practices for Online & Mobile Notetaking
Interested in transitioning to a more electronic reading and annotating workflow? Tools discussed will include desktop and mobile options, such as Evernote, iAnnotate, Mendeley, Microsoft OneNote, Note Taker HD, Zotero and EndNote
Get Organized with Google Drive and Box
Google Drive and Box are two university-supported systems for you to create and share documents, spreadsheets, slideshows, and data. This workshop will help you make the most of both platforms. Presenters will discuss strengths and weaknesses, demo sample projects, and take your questions. You will learn best practices for managing files, sharing resources, and collaborating on projects.
Share Alike: Creative Commons
What is Creative Commons? Does it replace copyright? How can Creative Commons be useful in the academic setting? This workshop will address these and other frequently asked questions about Creative Commons Licenses.
Research Assignments that Work
Whether you’re looking to improve an existing research assignment or wanting to create a new one from scratch, OSU instruction librarians can help you. In this workshop, we will show you how to design research assignments that: encourage students to use quality resources, target the skills you want your students to develop, prevent cut-and-paste plagiarism, avoid obstacles to learning caused by limited access to resources.
Have you been curious about how 3D printing works? If you are a complete beginner and want a dead simple introduction to 3D printing, come to this workshop. We’ll use some simple software to play with existing 3D files, learn what makes a good 3D file and send a 3D file to the Valley Library’s printer. For those of you who know CAD or other modeling software, this is not the workshop for you!
121 The Valley Library
Corvallis OR 97331–4501