Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Career and Job Search Information

Library resources to help you get a job and start your career.

Job Resources from Libraries of Oregon

Libraries of Oregon is a joint effort by the Oregon State Library and Oregon State University Libraries to connect Oregonians with library online resources around the state and beyond. All Oregon residents have access to a wide range of digital resources provided by the Oregon State Library.

The Use Job Resources tab takes you to a page listing many tools that you may find useful in your job search. Most are open links available to anyone; the few databases listed here are freely accessible to anyone in Oregon.

OSU Online Databases

These databases are availabe for OSU students, faculty, and staff from remote locations using your onid ID and password and for the general public using the library computers located on the second (main) floor of the Valley Library.

Mergent - A database covering information about both public and private companies.

Business Source Premier - Includes magazine articles (Fortune, Money, etc.), trade press publications, and scholarly articles.

S&P NetAdvantage - Includes industry information and public companies.

Government Resources for Job Information

Information from the U.S. government about jobs and volunteerism  (USA.gov).

The Occupational Outlook Handbook (Bureau of Labor Statistics) is a nationally recognized guide to career information about hundreds of occupations. The Handbook is revised every two years.

O*Net is the Occupational Information Network, an online tool for career exploration and job analysis.

Find a job with the federal government at USAJOBSfree web-based job board enabling federal job seekers access to thousands of job opportunities across hundreds of federal agencies and organizations. They provide specific information for Veterans, too, at FedsHireVets.

Veterans: Many corporations have special hiring pages for Vets, too. Look for these when you search individual employer sites.

Find a job in Oregon through the State of Oregon Employment Department.

Resources for Veterans

Resource Guide for Veterans Transitioning to Criminal Justice - https://www.accreditedschoolsonline.org/criminal-justice-degree/veterans-guide/ (from Community for Accredited Online Schools)

Military.com: Jobs for Veteranshttps://www.military.com/veteran-jobs (from Military.com, a division of Monster Worldwide)

Disclaimer: These guides come from third parties, and OSU Libraries assumes no responsibility or liability for any errors or omissions in the content of this sites. 

E-books @ OSU: Career Information

These titles have been purchased by the OSU Libraries to view online.  After clicking on the title of the book, click the "connect to this title online" link that appears directly above the location information.