Skip to main content

Maps

Guide to the OSU Libraries map and aerial photography collection.

Aerial images finding aids

Some of our historic aerial photos have been moved to the Special Collections & Archives Research Center (5th floor; http://scarc.library.oregonstate.edu/index.html). Please use the following finding aids to identify which photos you need:

United States Dept. of Agriculture Aerial Photographs of Linn, Benton, and Lincoln Counties, Oregon, 1972-1994

http://archives.library.oregonstate.edu/files/archives/documents/OREp267.pdf

The United States Dept. of Agriculture Aerial Photographs of Linn, Benton, and Lincoln Counties, Oregon consist of aerial photographs assembled and used by the USDA field office in Tangent, Oregon for soil conservation and other purposes. The bulk of the photographs are 24x24 inch photographs taken in 1994 with accompanying index maps.

Marys Peak Area Aerial Photographs, 1962

http://nwda.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv09466

The Marys Peak Area Aerial Photographs consist of photographic prints (9x9 and 10x10 inches) made by the U.S. Forest Service in June-September 1962. The photographs depict Marys Peak and other areas in the Oregon Coast Range that are part of the Siuslaw National Forest. Many of the images include logging roads and clearcuts.

McDonald Forest Aerial Photographs, 1962 

http://scarc.library.oregonstate.edu/coll/p294/index.html

The McDonald Forest Aerial Photographs consist of images made by Western Aerial Contractors, Inc. of Eugene, Oregon, in 1962.

Satellite Images and Aerial Photographs of Oregon and the Pacific Northwest, 1972-1982 (MAPS Satellite)

http://scarc.library.oregonstate.edu/coll/satellite/index.html

This collection includes a variety of satellite images and aerial photographs depicting Oregon, Washington, Idaho, and California. Most of the images are at a small scale and depict large areas; more detailed images of Mt. St. Helens in Washington and the Oregon Coast are part of the collection.

Historic Aerial Photos

The Valley Library has a collection of historic air photos covering Benton County and the surrounding four counties: Lincoln, Linn, Marion, and Polk. Because they are a gift collection, holdings are incomplete and useful primarily for historical research.

These are located on the 5th floor of the Valley Library and accessible via assistance from Special Collections & Archives Research Center.

Here is a link to the finding aid for this collection:

Aerial Photographs of Benton, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, and Polk Counties, 1936-1979 (P 321)

NOTE: THIS COLLECTION WILL BE MOVED THIS SUMMER (2017) AND INACCESSIBLE DURING THIS TIME. ACCESS SHOULD BE RESTORED IN SEPTEMBER.

Collections Beyond OSU

The University of Oregon Map Library collects aerial photographs for the entire state. Many have been scanned online, but you must go to Eugene to see the entire collection. They are not available through interlibrary loan.

Online Aerial Images from OSU Special Collections & Archives

Satellite Images and Aerial Photographs of Oregon and the Pacific Northwest, 1972-1982 (MAPS Satellite)
http://scarc.library.oregonstate.edu/coll/satellite/index.html
This collection includes a variety of satellite images and aerial photographs depicting Oregon, Washington, Idaho, and California. Most of the images are at a small scale and depict large areas; more detailed images of Mt. St. Helens in Washington and the Oregon Coast are part of the collection.

Rising Flood Waters
http://digitalcollections.library.oregonstate.edu/cdm4/client/corflood64/index.html
From the John H. Gallagher Photography Collection, Rising Flood Waters documents Willamette River flooding in Corvallis on December 23, 1964.

Best of the Archives
A sample of images from the aerial photo print collection.

Online imagery

Oregon Imagery Explorer

The Oregon Imagery Explorer serves Oregon's 2005 half-meter orthoimagery reconstructed from aerial photographs acquired in the summer of 2005. Other imagery including satellite data is also served. The original Oregon 2005 half-meter orthoimagery is in Digital Orthophoto Quadrangle (DOQ) format and has a spatial resolution of a half-meter.

 

National Map Viewer (USGS)

Includes aerial imagery
http://viewer.nationalmap.gov/viewer/