Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Seafood Technology Resources: Library Catalogs

This research guide provides resources related to seafood technology and access to the Seafood Technology Bibliography as created by the Seafood Technology Project.

call out

 

Sea Grant Depository

The National Sea Grant Library (NSGL), is a digital library and the archive for NOAA Sea Grant publications. The collection includes documents from over 30 national programs and projects. Topics covered in the collection include: oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation, and law. 

Borrowing: Borrowing is free to all. Some material cannot by borrowed. Much of the material that is not copyrighted is available electronically.

University of Washington

University of Washington is one of the oldest state-supported institutions of higher education in the Pacific Northwest. The well regarded oceanography and fisheries program is supported by an excellent library. UW materials are easily acquired by OSU Libraries through the Orbis-Cascade Alliance Consortium--though materials are only available to those affiliate with OSU

Borrowing: Anyone can use the collection onsite or request material through a local public library or institutional library. 

 

NOAA Fisheries Library

The Northwest and Alaska Fisheries Science Centers Library supports the NOAA offices throughout the Pacific Northwest. It is physically located at the facility in Montlake, Seattle.  Users can locate the catalog, limit searching to Seattle location, or browse online journal titles, here.

Oregon State University

Oregon State University is a land, sea, sun, and space grant university located in Corvallis, Oregon with a branch Marine Science campus in Newport, Oregon. The collection includes strong holdings in Food and Seafood Science, marine fisheries, and Microbiology.

Borrowing: Anyone can use the collection onsite, and you can request material through your local public library or your institution's library. There may be a fee depending on lending agreements between your library and OSU. Contact the staff at the Guin Library, the marine branch, for more information, HMSC.Library@orst.edu. 541-867-0249.

University of Alaska

University of Alaska at Sitka (UAS) has partnered with the local fishing industry to remedy a shortage of fisheries technicians and biologists. As a result, UAS has developed new degrees and supporting courses. Therefore, the University of Alaska's catalog will have several seafood technology related resources.

Borrowing: Anyone can use the collection onsite, an you can request material through your local public library or your institution's library. 

 

Libraries of Fisheries and Oceans Canada

The Fisheries and Oceans Canada Library's (DFO) holdings span print and digital resources on marine, freshwater, and nautical sciences. It is a member of the Federal Science Library, a partnership of seven federal science libraries. Users can search all seven federal science libraries from one portal.

Borrowing: Whenever possible, departmental publications, reports, data sets, and other content are made available for anyone to view or download. It may be necessary to limit searching to online items only. 

California Digital Library

The University of California Libraries use a common online catalog called Melvyl. A user can search the holdings of all libraries in the UC union through this single discovery platform. Melvyl is open to the public, but receiving items may incur costs. 

Borrowing: Onsite access to some UC libraries in limited. You can request material through your local public library or your institution's library. There will be borrowing and photocopy charges.

University of British Columbia

 The University of British Columbia conducts a range of research on seafood; including, mis-labelling practices, sustainability, and business. The UBC library supports this research with a robust seafood technology collection. 

Borrowing: Anyone can use the collection onsite, and you can request materials through your local public library or your institution's library. Ther are borrowing charges for most items. 

University of Hawaii

The University of Hawai'i is comprised of ten campuses on six islands. The libraries at University of Hawai'i at Manoa support several research labs and field stations belonging to the School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology. The library collection includes works on seafood technology, safety, and sustainability. 

Borrowing: Anyone can use the collection onsite, and you can request materials through your local public library or your insttitution's library. There are borrowing charges for  most items.