Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Seafood Technology Bibliography
A bibliography of published and unpublished information--last updated in 2003.
Books at OSU
American Seafood by "Part cookbook, part reference guide, Barton Seaver's American Seafood is a comprehensive and inspirational exploration of lesser known species and rekindles an awareness of the people, places, and histories of our oceans." --Eric Ripert, Chef & Co-Owner of Le Bernardin Winner of the Gourmand World Cookbook Award in the US in the Fish and Seafood category! A 2017 Nautilus Award Winner! With the growing trend to reintroduce US-caught seafood into our culinary lexicon, this trustworthy reference from prestigious writer, chef, and sustainability advocate Barton Seaver will be the go-to source for home cooks, culinary students, professional chefs, and anyone fascinated by American food culture. American Seafood looks at maritime history, including Native American fisheries; fishing technology (including aquaculture); the effect of imports on our diet, economy, and the health of our seas; the biology of taste; and the evolution of seafood cuisine, from Pine Bark Stew, red and white chowder, Po' Boys, and Clam Bakes, to Baltimore Crab Cakes, Planked Salmon, Oysters Rockefeller, and Sushi. And although this is not a cookbook, Barton Seaver presents invaluable information on traditional culinary arts and his favorite ideas for taste pairings and preferred methods for cooking seafood. An index of species--with common, regional, and accepted names, all alphabetized--rounds out this must-have volume.
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
Assessment and Management of Seafood Safety and Quality by This paper compiles the state of knowledge on seafood safety and quality with the view to provide a succinct yet comprehensive resource book to seafood quality and safety managers, including topics on emerging issues such as new pathogens, the impact of climate change on seafood safety and a changing regulatory framework
Publication Date: 2014-12-04
Eating the Ocean by In Eating the Ocean Elspeth Probyn investigates the profound importance of the ocean and the future of fish and human entanglement. On her ethnographic journey around the world's oceans and fisheries, she finds that the ocean is being simplified in a food politics that is overwhelmingly land based and preoccupied with buzzwords like "local" and "sustainable." Developing a conceptual tack that combines critical analysis and embodied ethnography, she dives into the lucrative and endangered bluefin tuna market, the gendered politics of "sustainability," the ghoulish business of producing fish meal and fish oil for animals and humans, and the long history of encounters between humans and oysters. Seeing the ocean as the site of the entanglement of multiple species--which are all implicated in the interactions of technology, culture, politics, and the market--enables us to think about ways to develop a reflexive ethics of taste and place based in the realization that we cannot escape the food politics of the human-fish relationship.
Publication Date: 2016-12-09
Seafood Handbook by Updated to include a number of new species not previously featured, Seafood Handbook, Second Edition remains the only professional seafood reference guide. Easy to use and comprehensive, this book covers the sourcing, cooking, nutrition, product forms, names, and global supply information for more than 100 types of finfish and shellfish, with two oversized posters for quick reference. Professionals in the foodservice industry who need to make menu selections or purchase fish, and seafood buyers will benefit from this in-depth guide.
Publication Date: 2009-03-10
Seafood Science by This book explores current trends in seafood science and examines various related topics including isolation aspects and different methodologies involved in seafood production. It provides detailed explanations about marine species such as fish, seaweed, and crustaceans and discusses their health benefits as well as the health risk for consumption. These topics provide a platform to develop various aquaculture/biotechnology studies. The book is essential reading for the novice and expert in marine-related fields such as aquaculture, as well as those in biotechnology, chemical sciences, natural products, materials science, pharmaceutical science, and nutraceutical science.
Publication Date: 2014-09-16
Seafood Chilling, Refrigeration and Freezing by Fish and seafood are highly perishable, and must be preserved immediately after being caught or harvested. It is very important both to preserving its quality and to ensure that it does not pose any risks to human health upon consumption. Chilling, refrigeration and freezing are the major preservation methods used with seafood and fish products, all three processes aiming to preserve the freshness and flavour of the fish. Consumer demand for fish remains high despite escalating prices in the last ten years which have seen the retail cost of the most popular breeds (cod, haddock, salmon) more than double for unfrozen fish. Many consumers appear to be willing to pay a premium for freshness and quality, both of which are closely linked in shoppers' minds with the efficient chilling and refrigeration of the fish along the supply chain. At the same time, frozen fish and seafood has also grown more popular with shoppers, as a cheaper, more convenient alternative to refrigerated fresh fish and seafood. Seafood Chilling, Refrigeration and Freezing presents the science behind the chilling, refrigerating and freezing of fish and seafood, describing the chemical, microbiological and physical changes which take place during preservation, and considering the new technologies which can be used, highlighting their benefits and their economic implications. The book takes account of the different requirements for different breeds of fish and seafood, and includes both traditional and novel technologies, providing both current and future perspectives. It will be required reading for food scientists, fish processors and retailers as well as fish specialists, researchers and process designers.
Publication Date: 2015
About the Seafood Technology Project
The West Coast of the U.S. seafood processing industry faces daily challenges. Evolving international markets, continuing demands for quality, diminishing volumes of traditional species, and new products from previously underutilized species offer opportunities. At the same time, the industry is being hit by more regulations, declining water supplies, and costlier wastewater treatment and disposal prices.
All decisions that involve a change in seafood processes, products, technologies, machines and regulations require information. Some of this information must be created through new research; but much has been generated over the years by an active network of government, university and industry centers. It includes articles published in the journals that libraries collect and many in the field read. The information also includes the "gray" literature, those papers and reports that are not published in available journals, may or may not be available on the Web, and may only reside in a colleague's file cabinet.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA)
topics covered include all areas of food science, including food engineering, microbiology, packaging, technology and toxicology. Citations to materials on food laws, regulations and patents are also included.
Coverage Dates: 1969 - present
topics covered include clinical and experimental medicine; microbiology; pathology; pharmacology; physiology; reproductive biology; toxicology; and veterinary medicine.
Coverage Dates: 1950 - present
Web of Science
topics include all science disciplines, includes cited reference searching
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
- "Implementing interoperability in the seafood industry: learning from experiences in other sectors". Journal of Food Science. 2017. v.82 (Supplement 1): A22- A44. https://doi.org/10.1111/1750-3841.13742
- Shen, X., Su, Y., Liu, C., Oscar, T., DePaola, A. "Efficacy of Vibrio parahaemolyticus depuration in oysters (Crassostrea gigas)". Food Microbiology. 2019. v. 79: 35-40. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.fm.2018.10.005