- Borrow & Request
- Meet & Study Here
- Tech & Print
Checking to see if a journal is peer reviewed just got A LOT easier. When you look up a journal title in Ulrichsweb.com the description will tell you if it is "refereed" and that is another way of saying that articles in that journal undergo "peer review." We have access to this resource electronically via the link below
You use the keywords from your research topic to search for journal articles on a topic -- usually in a database.
Once you find your article's entry in a database, check whether the database provides the full-text article. If it does, the database will provide a link to a "full-text PDF", "full text available online", or something similar.
If the database doesn't provide a full-text article, click on the FindIt@OSU button to see if OSU subscribes to the electronic or the paper copy of the journal. FindIt@OSU will open a new window and will display a link to full-text when available. If not, request the article from Interlibrary Loan
Online databases are a good place to start when you are searching for articles -- especially scholarly and peer-reviewed articles. Databases are searchable collections of research and other articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. You can search for articles by topic or, if you already know the information, by author or title.
Databases often include the full text of their articles, which allows you to read an article online, download it, or print a copy. Not all articles in a database include the article's full text.
The most effective way to search the online databases is to enter terms or keywords that effectively describe your topic.
If you have an article citation and want to find that specific article, you can find it in several ways:
E-journals are another good research tool. if you are looking for articles on a topic, you will want to use the databases (see the Finding articles tab). It's more efficient than browsing through journals. If you want to see what is being published in your discipline or what the current hot topics are, then browsing through a journal can be very helpful. With e-journals, you can browse the table of content of a journal without coming to the library.
OSU Libraries subscribes to over 80,000 electronic journals (e-journals). It's easiest to search the e-journals if you have a specific journal or citation to locate. Always note the date range available for each journal subscription.
Remember that if we don't have a journal online, we can still get a copy of an article for you via Interlibrary Loan.
121 The Valley Library
Corvallis OR 97331–4501