LibGuides: BA 518: Adopting the Entrepreneurial Mindset (Corvallis and Ecampus): BA518

NAICS Codes

What is NAICS?

The North American Industry Classification System or NAICS is a 6-digit federal classification system used by Canada, Mexico, and the United States to classify business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data relating to the business economy. It replaces an earlier system, the 4-digit SIC (Standard Industrial Classification). Such industry classification systems are useful for comparing data.

How is it useful for this assignment? Use this code to pull up Industry and competitor market research in the business databases.

How to find it: It is included in most tables, articles, and company information profiles you find in many of the business databases, or go to NAICS Lookup from the U.S. Census Bureau to search or browse for the code matching your industry.

Survey Software: Qualtrics

DOING YOUR OWN SURVEY? OSU students/faculty have access to QUALTRICS

Qualtrics login page: http://oregonstate.edu/main/online-services/qualtrics

OSU provides a campus-wide license for the Qualtrics survey system that is available to all faculty, staff and students. Qualtrics is an industry leading web-based survey system that offers a robust capability for building and distributing surveys and supports sophisticated data analysis tools.

Other Useful LibGuides

*Business
by Diana Castillo Last Updated Aug 4, 2023 1539 views this year
*Marketing
by Diana Castillo Last Updated Jul 20, 2023 468 views this year
US Census Data
by Diana Castillo Last Updated May 24, 2021 139 views this year

Where can I get more help?

Contact the OSU Libraries Information Desk

Call us at 541-737-7293
Text us at 541-526-7655
Email us
In person: The Information Desk is on the main (2nd) floor of the Valley Library.
Chat with a librarian (below)

Librarian

Diana Castillo

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

3rd Floor, Valley Library

541-737-9494

Subjects: Business, Defense Education, Design and Human Environment, Government Information & Law, Psychology & Counseling, Public Policy

Help with Market Analysis

Mintel Market Research Reports
Market research reports can be difficult to find. One resource available to OSU students is Mintel Market Research, which offers market research reports covering many US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. Search by keyword, or browse for reports by sector, theme or demographic. You can also browse through the release Schedule within the various sector libraries for the most current reports.

Another option:

Reference USA. This database is especially useful for small business owners/entrepreneurs and for job seekers. OSU does not subscribe but it is available at the Corvallis-Benton County Public Library. (OSU students can get a free public library card, even if you don't reside in Benton County. If you have a card, you can access this from home.)

Market analysis can be very challenging. Not all the information you need is going to be publicly available, which is precisely why you also need to conduct primary research, With regard to your secondary research, sometimes you'll have to extrapolate information from different sources to get the information you need. Market research reports created by for-profit companies are usually much too expensive for a student to afford and impossible for a library to obtain. You will need to get creative!

Business News Sources

Searching in the business news can be useful for several reasons: you can get a feel for overall trends and development in an industry, discover who the major companies are within an industry, and find out what's happening that's new and exciting.

Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Newly Updated: Now includes access to a variety of new content such as case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Business Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. Available content covers disciplines such as business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Regional Business News (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full text newswire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world. Included in this database are A&G Information, Africa News Service, Inter Press Service, Resource News International, South American Business, M2 Communications, PR Newswire, Business News Wire, Canadian Corporate News, News Bytes News Network and Phillips Business Information Highlights. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Most recent 30 days
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984.

Helpful Databases / OSU Libraries

As you do your research of companies and markets, the following databases provided by OSU Libraries may prove useful for finding company and industry information.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online is a subscription-based service offering information on approximately 15,000 NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ companies. The service also provides data on 20,000 non-U.S. based corporations. Company information comprises that of all of the Mergent/Moody's Manuals except for the Municipal & Government Manual. Annual and quarterly financials date back 15 years, annual reports date back to 1996 or 1997, and SEC filings date back to 1993. Information available for each company includes: company history, business, property, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, exchange and ticker symbol, address, telephone number, annual stock price ranges, trustees, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, dividend payment history and more.
First Research This link opens in a new window
First Research® provides unlimited access to an online library of profiles on over 900 industry segments.
This powerful research tool features in-depth, up-to-date information. Profiles are
comprehensive and includes the following:

• Condensed industry profile overview in addition to the traditional full profile overview
• The competitive landscape
• Products, operations and technology
• Finance and regulation
• Regional and international issues
• Human resources
• Labor statistics
First Research profiles are prepared by analysts that hold advanced degrees in business and on
average have more than 20 years of practical business experience. This translates to a clear and direct
writing style that makes information easy to understand, remember and utilize.
Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Global Company and Industry Intelligence, plus case studies and great chart-making functionality. Scholarly journals, case studies, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies. Detailed company and industry profiles, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection. Especially good chart generation!
Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
BSP is our chief source of business news and scholarly research, plus a lot more. Business Source Premier provides access to thousands of scholarly business journals, newspapers, and trade publications, including full text for many of them. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. A great resource for Trade industry news.

NetAdvantage
While primarily designed for finding investment information, there is a lot of industry and company data available here. Look for the tabs at the top of the page for "Company" and "Industry" to simplify finding this information.

Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
SMA is an online international sport marketing and business information provider including reports and statistics which focus on sport participation, fan profiles, sports facilities, sport finance, sporting goods, sponsorship, marketing, media and directories." 1993 - present

Small Business Resource Center
Working on components of a business plan? Find examples here. Easy to search and highly intuitive, this is a comprehensive database offering content that covers all major areas of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax and more. Based on a combination of periodical and reference content, Small Business Resource Center is a good source of basic information for the prospective and current entrepreneurial community, as well as for students in business programs. From conducting industry research to financial planning...to marketing a product and franchising a business...

Small Business Resource Center features a wealth of resources, including the entire Business Plans Handbook Series, which contains hundreds of sample business plans created by real-life entrepreneurs, as well as Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources, Encyclopedia of Management and Small Business Management – A Framework for Success.
Also included are dozens of titles from John Wiley & Sons, publisher of the well-known “For Dummies” series, including Portable MBA in Strategy, 2nd Ed., The 7 Irrefutable Rules of Small Business Growth, and Portable MBA in Entrepreneurship.
Small Business Resource Center also
includes a number of business journals – both specialty/vertical market and general business – including titles like:
■ Better Asset Management
■ Black Enterprise
■ Consumer Comments
■ Cosmetics International
■ Direct Marketing
■ Financial Management
■ Family Business Review
■ The Tax Adviser
… and many more

Free Online Demographic Resources

To construct a successful business or marketing plan, it is important to know your audience. Demographic tools are a good way to discover something about the people and the communities you plan to market to--here are several freely available online tools to help you.

American FactFinder: Data from the U.S. census including Puerto Rico and island areas. Includes population, housing, and economic information. (Step-by-step LibGuide for how to use American FactFinder: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/AmericanFactFinder)

Census Reporter For a more visual rendition of Census information, try this Knight News project developed to make it easier for journalists to write stories using information from the U.S. Census Bureau. Place profiles and comparison pages provide a friendly interface for navigating data, including visualizations for a more useful first look.

State Master: Database of facts about states. When viewing results, look at the bottom of the page to find the source. You may need to visit the source to view the most up-to-date information.

Oregon Explorer: Rural Communities Explorer: Information compiled and updated by faculty and staff at Oregon State University thanks to a generous donation from the Ford Foundation. Includes online information about Oregon communities (including Portland) that can't be found anywhere else.

Small Business Help from U.S. Census Bureau

Census Business Builder

A great free tool for those seeking to establish or research small businesses by geographic area.
There are two available: Small Business Edition, and Regional Analyst Edition.
Small Business Edition is built primarily for small business owners who need key data for their business plan or to better understand their potential market. It presents data for a single type of business and geography at a time. Regional Analyst Edition is built for chambers of commerce and regional planning staff who need a broad portrait of the people and businesses in their service area. It presents data for all sectors of the economy and for a user-defined region made up of one or more areas.

County Business Patterns (CBP)
An annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets.
Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB)
Annual or static data include number of firms, number of establishments, employment, and annual payroll for most U.S. business establishments. The data are tabulated by geographic area, industry, and enterprise size. Industry classification is based on 2012 North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes.

Marketing eBooks

International Marketing Data and Statistics (online book) and European Marketing Data and Statistics (physical book) are statistical yearbooks containing comparable business and marketing information. The subjects covered range from banking and finance, consumer market sizes and foreign trade to cultural and economic indicators. It serves as an ideal base for building country profiles, strategic planning and international market analysis. At a glance, you can compare population size by age, length of the average working week, consumer expenditure on hotels by month and much more. The international edition includes the United States.

Libraries

BA 518: Adopting the Entrepreneurial Mindset (Corvallis and Ecampus)