Skip to main content

Guide to Women's Words, Women's Work: Spaces of community, change, tradition, and resistance at Oregon State University

Exhibited Collections

Images were cited in the exhibit in the following order:

Image 1. Jo Anne Johnson Trow, Vice President of Student Affairs.  News and Communication Services Photograph Collection, 1949-1999; P057:4277

Image 2. Kate M. Jameson, Dean of Women from 1924-1941. Harriet’s Photograph Collection, 1868-1996; P HC:0184.

Image 3. Pearl Spears Gray, OSU's affirmative action officer from 1976 to 1987. News and Communication Services Photograph Collection, 1962-1999; P057:5697.

Image 4. A secretary in Agricultural Extension Information, 1953. Gwil Evans Photographic Collection, 1930-1968; P082:02-1469.

Image 5. Della Perez-Franks talks with Samuel Aguirre and Naomi Arreguin-Richmond at the Chicano Cultural Center, 1977. News and Communication Services Photograph Collection, 1962-1999; P057:5551.

Image 6. An unidentified OSC Business Office employee photographed receiving a radio as a retirement gift, 1960. Gwil Evans Photographic Collection, 1930-1968; P082:01-2548.

Image 7. Sally Wilson using microfilm camera, c 1974. News and Communication Services Photograph Collection, 1962-1999; P057:03609.

Image 8. Jane Lubchenco, Distinguished Professor of Zoology, and OSU’s Wayne and Gladys Valley Professor of Marine Biology, 1992. News and Communication Services Photograph Collection, 1962-1999; P057:2006:046.

Image 9. Kathleen Dean Moore, Emeritus Distinguished Professor of Philosophy, 1988. News and Communication Services Photograph Collection, 1962-1999; P057:2006:046.

Image 10. Eunice Au, Entomology, circa 1966. Entomology Department Photograph Collection, 1912-2002; P 055.

Image 11. T. Y. and H. H. Hsiao, Entomology, 1941. Entomology Department Photograph Collection, 1912-2002; P 055.

Image 12. Meal preparation demonstration for OSC Home Economics students, 1954. Gwil Evans Photographic Collection, 1930-1968P082:0042:1574.

Image 13. Juliet Greer, Head of the Department of Domestic Science and Art; circa 1908. Harriet’s Photograph Collection, 1868-1996; P HC HC0179.

Image 14. Lois Sather at a food research meeting, 1958. Extension Bulletin Illustrations Photograph Collection, 1915-1963; P020:1627.

Image 15. Margaret Fincke, Home Economics faculty member, doing nutritional research; 1955. College of Home Economics Photograph Collection, 1925-1998; P 044.

Image 16. Clara Storvick, Professor of Foods and Nutrition Research, in the laboratory, 1953. Gwil Evans Photographic Collection, 1930-1968; P082:0070:1464.


The following textual item was also displayed:

Item 1. "Tribute to Margaret C. Snell is Given at Silver Jubilee," June 1924. The OAC Alumnus; pg. 162.

Additional Resources

Harriet's Photograph Collection, 1868-1996 (P HC)

  1. Dr. Anna Z. Crayne (HC0156)
  2. Mary Strong Kinney, circa 1925 (HC1956)
  3. Clara Waldo, circa 1920 (HC0416)  
  4. Buena Maris Mockmore, circa 1945 (HC0288)
  5. Ida A. Kidder, (HC0265)

Gwil Evans Photographic Collection, 1930-1968 (P 082)

  1. Staff demonstrating new IBM machines in the OSC Business Office, 1948 (P082:01-0247)
  2. Eva Blackwell with stacks of diplomas, 1963 (P082:0065:2794)

News and Communication Services Photograph Collection, 1962-1999 (P 057) 

  1. Betty Hawthorne, 1965 (P057:Acc95:018)

Ray Stout Photographic Collection, 1904-1940 (P 103)

  1. Margaret Snell, 1895 (P103:28b)