Skip to main content

Guide to Women's Words, Women's Work: Spaces of community, change, tradition, and resistance at Oregon State University

Exhibited Collections

Images were cited in the exhibit in the following order:

Image 1. Women’s Physical Education class, 1900. Oregon State University Historical Photographs, 1868-1980P025:3080.

Image 2. Women in May Day pageant doing dance depiction of the history of Oregon, 1921. Women's Athletics Photograph Collection, 1899-1958; P009:12.

Image 3. Aki Hill coaching her players, 1980. News and Communication Services Photograph Collection, 1962-1999; P057:6484.

Image 4. Sylvia Moore, 1980. KBVR Photographs, 1970-1988; P170 – moore.

Image 5. “Woman shot putting in athletic bloomers,” 1920. Harriet's Photograph Collection, 1868-1996; HC0026.

Image 6. Participants in a competitive jacks tournament, circa 1955. Women's Recreation Association (WRA) Photographic Collection, 1910-1965; P171:026.

Image 7. Women’s Basketball, 1903. Alumni Relations Photographs, 1870-2003; P017:831.

Image 8. Three women pinning one to the ground in fencing class, 1938. Women's Athletics Photograph Collection, 1899-1958; P009:14.

Image 9. Joni Huntley preparing to high jump, 1975. News and Communication Services Photograph Collection, 1962-1999; P057:0092:054.

Image 10. Women’s field hockey, circa 1925. Women's Athletics Photograph Collection, 1899-1958; P009:44.


The following textual items were also displayed:

Item 1. Oregon State Volleyball Media Guide, 1990. Sports Media Guides, 1938-2012; Box-folder 4.12.

Item 2. Oregon State University, Title IX: Intercollegiate Athletics Self-Evaluation Reprt, 1976. Intercollegiate Athletics Records, 1908-2013; Box-folder 08.15.

Item 3. The Messenger, Spring 2018.

Additional Resources

Women's Athletics Photograph Collection, 1899-1958 (P 009)

  1. Women playing baseball in field behind Women’s Building, 1938 (P009:22
  2. Mother’s Day pageant, women dancing on the lawn, 1925 (P009:43
  3. Four women running the hurdles in front of the stadium, circa 1925 (P009:36
  4. Women fencing in gym class, 1938 (P009:13
  5. Two women in dance or formal dresses, circa 1925 (P009:45

Women's Recreation Association (WRA) Photographic Collection, 1910-1965 (P 171)

  1. Women’s volleyball (P171:50
  2. Participants in a darts competition, 1955 (P171:032

Harriet's Photograph Collection, 1868-1996 (P HC)

  1. Women’s polo team, circa 1931 (HC1034
  2. Women dressed as football players (HC0022

Oregon State University Historical Photographs, 1868-1980 (P 025)

  1. Women’s football team, 1930 (P025:1959
  2. Carol Menken shooting basketball, 1981 (P025:3120

News and Communication Services Photograph Collection, 1962-1999 (P 057)

  1. Kathy Weston, 1979 (P057:8951
  2. Rise Alexander, 1976 (P057:5198a

Wanda Gifford Photographs, 1948-1958 (P 218-SG 4)

  1. Group of women hikers at spring, circa 1950 (P218 SG4 1012

Gwil Evans Photographic Collection, 1930-1968 (P 082)

  1. “Rally gals for 1960-1961” (P082:05-2391) 

Beaver Yearbook Photographs, 1998-2005 (P 003) 

  1. Felicia Ragland playing against Loyola Marymount in the Preseason WNIT, 2001 (P003:0064

Oregon State University Military Photographs Collection, 1875-1975 (P 002)

  1. College women with 1903 Springfield rifles, circa 1943 (P002:051