Skip to main content

Guide to the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Requesting Collections and Books

There are 3 ways to request materials held by the Special Collections and Archives Research Center.

1. Collection Guides

Video Transcript

To request archival materials from special collections, keep an eye out for this phrase as you browse a collection guide: Clicking on Add to Shelf will compile these materials on your shelf, which you can access in the upper right hand corner.
To request these materials, register an account with us. Please note that this is a separate account, different from your OSU account.
Once you’ve registered, you can send your shelf to us, letting us know when you will be arriving. We require 24 hours advance notice in order to have materials waiting upon your arrival.

2. 1Search

Video Transcript

To request an item from SCARC via 1Search, make sure you are logged into your OSU account. Click request, then request again, and when you arrive at the Special Collections and Archives Research Center, it will be on hold for you. Please allow 24 hours for request fulfillment before your visit. The OSU Community and the public visitors can also submit the request in person at Special Collections and Archives Research Center. 

3: Visit us or Contact us

You can also submit your requests in person at the front desk of the Special Collections and Archives Research Center, on the 5th floor of Valley Library. When you arrive, please know which collections and which boxes from those collections you wish to consult, and/or the call numbers of any books. You can also email us your requests at scarc@oregonstate.edu. Please allow 24 hours for request fulfillment if you have emailed us.