Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Travel and Tourism in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

This guide is intended to highlight collections in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center that deal with travel and or tourism in the Northwest.

How to Use This Guide

Portions of our rare book collections, together with selected manuscript and archival collections, cover nearly every facet of travel and tourism in some way. This guide describes physical collections located in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center. Digitized materials can be located by searching Oregon Digital; where appropriate, links to specific collection material in Oregon Digital have been provided.

The Rare Books featured on the "Select Travel and Tourism Books" tab of this guide are listed alphabetically by author, and represent just a small fraction of our rare book holdings that touch on travel and/or tourism. Clicking on the hyperlinked call number for a given text will open that text's library catalog page; call numbers with asterisks have copies in Special Collections and in the main stacks of the Valley Library (the latter of which may be checked out and taken home).

Manuscript and archival collections listed in this guide are identified by title, and are described in a brief statement that includes the relevant contents of the collection. Subjects, topics, and/or keywords relating to travel and/or tourism have been bolded, and box and folder information has been included as appropriate. All collections listed in this guide are open for research. Some collections, however, are not yet fully processed, arranged, or described; the titles of these collections have been marked with an asterisk, e.g. Beth Russell Papers, 1941-2005*.