Skip to main content

Oregon Food * Farming History

Archival and Manuscript Collections on Domestic Economy

Poultry

Oregon Poultry Council Records, 1936-1989 

The records in this collection consist of correspondence, meeting minutes, bylaws, committee records and photographs produced by the Oregon Poultry Council. The collection is small, but fruitful. 

Poultry Science Department Photograph Collection, 1910-1995 

The Poultry Science Department Photograph Collection contains images pertaining to the production and preparation of turkey and chicken; Pacific Egg and Poultry Association (PEPA) scholarship recipients; the 1987 Poultry Society of America (PSA) convention; and general activities relating to the Poultry Science Department at OSU. The collection list is robust and details many images that were used in the Poultry Science Department.

Oregon Poultry Industries Association Records, 1924-1989 

This collection consists of the records of the Oregon Poultry Industries Association, the Oregon Poultry and Hatchery Association, the Oregon Egg Producers and the Oregon Poultry and Egg National Board. 

Poultry Science Department Records, 1900-1993 

The Poultry Science Department Records contain documents pertaining to Oregon Agricultural College's involvement in the 1915 Panama-Pacific International Exposition in San Francisco, the Poultry Extension and Training Subproject and the Poultry Industry Advisory Committee. The records consist of reports, certificates, proposals and correspondence. The collection also contains records pertaining to the general activities of the Poultry Science Department.

Oregon Broiler Growers Association Records, 1956-1991 

The collection includes minutes, reports, committee records, bylaws and articles of incorporation, lists of members, financial records, clippings, ephemera, memorabilia, correspondence and related documentation of the OBGA.

Hanson Leghorn Farm Records, 1917-1967 

The Hanson Leghorn Farm Records contain materials documenting the Hanson Leghorn Farm, a nationally significant poultry breeding business located in Corvallis, Oregon. The records include correspondence, breeding and production records, financial records, incubation and banding reports, advertisements and other promotional literature, honors and awards, poultry industry trade magazines, and photographs and artwork.

Oregon Turkey Improvement Association Records, 1943-1992 

The collection includes correspondence, meeting minutes, newsletters, financial reports, committee records, photographs and ephemera produced by the Oregon Turkey Improvement Association.

Paul E. Bernier Papers, 1930-1992 

These papers were generated and collected by Paul E. Bernier and document his research in chicken breeding and genetics. The collection contains correspondence, publications, research records, certificates, and photographs. Of note is Series IV.  Research Project Records for "Genetics and Breeding Improvement of Chickens", 1947-1977. 

George H. Arscott Papers, 1950-1997 

The George H. Arscott Papers were generated and assembled by Arscott and document his poultry science research. George H. Arscott earned a B.S. in Poultry Husbandry from Oregon State College in 1949 and was a faculty member in the Poultry Science Department at Oregon State from 1953 until his retirement in 1987. The Papers consist of articles, conference papers, publications, reports, and studies; Arscott's thesis and dissertation; research project records; newspaper clippings; correspondence; and photographs.

Harry S. Nakaue Papers, 1975-1997 

The Harry S. Nakaue Papers consist of materials relating to Nakaue's teaching career as a poultry science professor at Oregon State University. The collection includes correspondence, research proposals and data on chicken broilers and layers, turkeys and other types of poultry. Also included are lecture notes from courses taught by Nakaue, research, syllabi, course outlines, scientific meeting and presentation slides, photos of Nakaue and publications.


Dairy

Banks Dairy Products Company Records, 1922-1944

Corporate records of the Banks Dairy Products Company of Banks, Oregon. The Banks Dairy Products Company was incorporated in Washington County, Oregon, in 1922 and operated until its dissolution in 1941. The company was involved in the purchase and sale of milk and milk products, particularly the manufacture and sale of cheese and butter; the construction of an ice and cold storage plant and the preservation of products by means of cold storage; and the construction and maintenance of buildings and structures for creameries, cheese factories, milk distributing plants, elevators, and storage plants.

A Dairy Program for Oregon Scrapbook, 1929 

The A Dairy Program for Oregon Scrapbook documents the publicity and promotion activities leading up to the 1929 statewide Convention for the Revision of Oregon's Dairy Program held at Oregon Agricultural College in 1929. The scrapbook includes publications, clippings, correspondence, and photographs. Some of the clippings are written by Marshall N. Dana of the Oregon Journal. The publications were issued by the Extension Service.

Philip M. Brandt Papers, 1931-1957 

The Philip M. Brandt Papers document the role of Philip M. Brandt, department head of the Dairy Husbandry Department at Oregon State College, in Oregon Republican politics and the Oregon Grange. Dairy husbandry professor P.M. Brandt served on the Oregon State College faculty as head of the Dairy Husbandry Department from 1917 until his retirement in 1957. Brandt was also active in civic affairs and local politics. He was a member of the Corvallis City Council from 1924 to 1933, Mayor of Corvallis in 1933-34, and served on various state committees.


Wool

Animal Sciences Department Records, 1879-2011 

The Animal Sciences Department Records contain a variety of materials related to the department including property data as well as a log book documenting Oregon Agricultural College's dairy cow herd. Also included are photographs taken by Department of Animal Husbandry faculty that depict various sheep farms throughout Oregon. Documents concerning Oregon Agricultural College's dairy cattle herd and photographs taken by the Animal Husbandry Department are also housed here.

Thomas B. Searcy Property Records, 1889-1961 

The Thomas B. Searcy Property Records document the land in Sherman County, Oregon, homesteaded by Thomas B. Searcy in 1889 and Searcy's financial interactions with the Moro Grain Growers Association and the Pacific Co-operative Wool Growers Association. The documents are arranged in chronological order and housed in sleeves; the collection includes original documents as well as photocopies of most of the originals. A list of the documents is also included.

Oregon State University Memorabilia Collection, ca. 1860-present 

The Memorabilia Collection is an artificial collection containing items of interest about Oregon State University and to a lesser extent, the city of Corvallis, and the state of Oregon. The Memorabilia Collection includes information about Oregon State University buildings and campus development; academic departments and programs; research, extension, and outreach; faculty, staff, and alumni; student organizations; intercollegiate and intramural athletics; and other campus events, activities, and issues.

Several things of note in the collection are:

  • Box-Folder 30.4: Buildings - Sheep Barn, 1991
  • Box-Folder 45.6: Cookbooks, 1926-1991
    • "Aunt Sammy's Radio Recipes" USDA publication 1926, "A Time of Horses, Cattle and Sheep: cookbook" ,1991
  • Box-Folder 119.1: Oregon Sheep Growers Association, 1990 
  • Box-Folder 143.3: Sheep Breeders - Animal Science, 1963-1996
    • Newspaper clippings, list of Purebred Breeders of Sheep in Oregon (1963)​
  • Box-Folder 166.14: Wool, 1995
  • Box-Folder 166.15: Wool-growers Association Conventions - Program from 44th annual convention, 1940

Extension Service Photographs, 1900-2007 

The Extension Service Photographs document Extension programs, activities, and staff throughout Oregon as well as Oregon agriculture. The bulk of the collection pertains to the three traditional Extension programmatic areas -- agriculture, home economics, and 4-HThe photographs depict Extension Service programs and staff from all regions of Oregon; however, Benton, Clatsop, Klamath, and Lane Counties are strongly represented.

Several things of note in the collection are:

  • Series 1: Extension Service Programs and Activities, 1900-2007
    • Item P062:035: Oregon Wool Growers Association 33rd Annual Convention at The Dalles, January 16-17, 1930
  • Series 2: Photographs from Clatsop and Klamath County Annual Reports, 1923-1955
    • Includes several images of sheep for agricultural harvesting.
  • Series 4: Frank L. Ballard Photographs, 1909 - circa 1965
    • A few images of sheep grazing and images of wool processing.

Beekeeping

Entomology Department Photograph Collection, 1912-2002 

This collection consists of photographs generated and collected by the Entomology Department. The materials document the activities of department faculty, staff, and students as well as classes, entomology research and fieldwork, and various insects.

Of note in the collection:

  • P55: #47-#53 are Beekeeping and Beekeeping related classes, 1912
    • The images depict beekeeping classes and beekeeping items. 

Agricultural and Resource Economics Department Photographs, 1925-1979 

The Agricultural and Resource Economics Department Photographs consist of images taken by Oregon State College County Agents, Farm Management Department faculty and staff, and Agricultural Economics Department faculty. The photographs depict agriculture in Oregon, including livestock, equipment, and crop fields. Additional images document damage caused by the 1945/1946 Willamette River flood, pasture scenes, operations of the Duckwall Fruit Processing Plant, and fruit harvesting and processing in Wenatchee Valley, Washington. Series 2 includes images of a bee yard.

Extension Service Photographs, 1900-2007 

The Extension Service Photographs document Extension programs, activities, and staff throughout Oregon as well as Oregon agriculture. The bulk of the collection pertains to the three traditional Extension programmatic areas -- agriculture, home economics, and 4-HThe photographs depict Extension Service programs and staff from all regions of Oregon; however, Benton, Clatsop, Klamath, and Lane Counties are strongly represented.

Several things of note in the collection are:

  • Series 1: Extension Service Programs and Activities, 1900-2007
    • Item P062:025: 4-H Bee Club members learn how to manipulate bees in Tillamook County, 1935
  • Series 2: Photographs from Clatsop and Klamath County Annual Reports, 1923-1955

Orchards

F. Ross Brown Papers, 1890-1963 

The F. Ross Brown Papers consist of materials generated and assembled by Brown documenting his student years at Oregon Agricultural College, agricultural work in the 1910s, and participation in the Oregon Wildlife Federation and the National Wildlife Federation. The collection includes photographs, a photograph album, student memorabilia, and correspondence. Brown graduated from Oregon Agricultural College in 1910. The album includes snapshots of friends and family (including children) and outings. Agricultural scenes, especially of orchards, and views of towns in Oregon and Washington are depicted, including Ashland, the Hood River Valley, Medford, Rex, Riddle, and Roseburg in Oregon and Camas, Washington. 

Agricultural Experiment Station Bulletin Illustrations, 1925-1941

The Agricultural Experiment Station Bulletin Illustrations consist of photographs and other illustrations reproduced in Station Bulletins published from the mid-1920s to early 1940s. The subjects are representative of the various agricultural research projects conducted in Corvallis and at Branch Stations throughout Oregon.

Of note in the collection:

  • Item SB 292: Cost and efficiency in prune production in western Oregon., June 1931
  • Item SB 315: Cost and practices in establishing walnut orchards in Oregon., June 1933 
  • Item SB 374: Anjou pear responses to irrigation in a clay adobe soil., July 1940 

Agriculture Photograph Collection, ca. 1890-1970 

This is an artificial collection of photos from many sources pertaining to various aspects of agriculture in Oregon, the Pacific Northwest, the Midwest, and Canada. Several groupings of photographs were made by/for the Extension Service and the Agricultural Experiment Station, and depict the Emergency Farm Labor Service and Branch Experiment Station buildings and activities. Agricultural activities shown on campus include brooder houses, chicken coops, farm machinery classes, and the dairy barn. A small number of photos scattered throughout the collection were made by the USDA in Oregon around 1910. 

Agricultural and Resource Economics Department Photographs, 1925-1979 

The Agricultural and Resource Economics Department Photographs consist of images taken by Oregon State College County Agents, Farm Management Department faculty and staff, and Agricultural Economics Department faculty. The photographs depict agriculture in Oregon, including livestock, equipment, and crop fields. Additional images document damage caused by the 1945/1946 Willamette River flood, pasture scenes, operations of the Duckwall Fruit Processing Plant, and fruit harvesting and processing in Wenatchee Valley, Washington.

Of note in the collection:

  • Series 1: Farm Produce and Crops, 1925-1949
    • Item 1-E-107: Apple and pear orchard, Hood River, 1944
    • Item 1-E-108: Apple and pear orchards – spraying, Hood River, 1944 
    • Item 1-E-109: Apple and pear orchards – picking, Hood River
    • Item 1-E-110: Apple and pear orchards – Valley scene, Hood River, 1944 
    • Item 1-E-112: Walnut orchard, Oregon Bulletin 635 
    • Item 1-E-113: Walnut orchards
    • Item 1-E-115: Orchards, Walla Walla Co
  • Series 5: Additional Agricultural Images, circa 1946
    • Item 5-A-112: Willamette River flood 1945-46, peach orchard, 60% gone, January 1946
  • Series 7: Fruit Harvesting and Processing in Wenatchee Valley, 1966-1979
    • Series VII contains images that depict fruit harvesting and processing in Wenatchee Valley, Washington. The images show a variety of apple harvesting methods, both by hand and with harvesting machinery. This harvest took place at Van Well Orchard.

Other 

Irwin Betzel Papers, 1911-1920 

The Irwin Betzel Papers are comprised of materials assembled and generated by Irwin Betzel during his years as an Oregon Agricultural College student and OAC Instructor of Pharmacy. Included are two scrapbooks, a photograph album, several loose photographs, three pharamcy notebooks, and a small collection of pharmacy ephemera. 


*Brewing - see Fermentation tab

Rare Books on Domestic Economy

The rare book collections in Special Collections and Archives Research Center have a wealth of material related to domestic economy. Use these terms when looking in the rare books collections:

Domestic Economy in the Main Collection

Searching the Main Collection of the library is extremely beneficial for sources. The sources span many decades, and can be pinpointed to find whatever you're searching for (or at least get you on the right track!) Don't let the overwhelming sources deter you! If you're unsure of sources or searching, don't be afraid to ask a librarian for research tips.

Some key terms to use when using 1Search: