Skip to main content

Oregon Food * Farming History

Archival and Manuscript Collections on Local Food History

 Corvallis-Albany Farmers' Markets Records, 1991-2012

The Corvallis-Albany Farmers' Markets Records document the establishment, organization, and promotion of seasonal markets for farm-direct products in Corvallis and Albany, Oregon. The non-profit organization, Corvallis-Albany Farmers' Markets, was established in 1998 through the merger of the Corvallis Wednesday and Saturday markets with the Albany Saturday market.

Stock's Cash Store Records, 1880-1897 

The Stock's Cash Store Records are comprised of three ledger books documenting sales and purchases made by Stock's Cash Store, a general store located in Corvallis, Oregon, between 1880 and 1897. The ledgers contain itemized records of daily transactions and the balances of individual customer and vendor accounts.

Basques of Harney County, Oregon, Oral History Collection, 1976-2001

The Basques of Harney County, Oregon, Oral History Collection consists of transcripts and audiotapes of 15 oral history interviews conducted in 1976 and 1979 as part of an inventory of historic sites in Harney County. Basque sheepherders immigrated to southeastern Oregon from the 1890s through the 1920s and worked as itinerant herders on the mountain ranges of Harney County until the 1930s. Several oral histories in the collection refer to Basque food and cooking.

Oregon Emergency Farm Labor Service Oral History Collection, 1992

The Oregon Emergency Farm Labor Service Oral History Collection consists of interviews conducted in 1992 by Oregon State University students of five individuals familiar with farm labor in Oregon during World War II.

Oral Histories of the James Cant Ranch (John Day Valley, Oregon), 1982-1985

The Oral Histories of the James Cant Ranch are comprised of interviews with fifteen individuals that tell the story of James and Elizabeth Cant's successful agricultural operation - established in northeast Oregon on the John Day River in the early 1900s - and of rural agricultural life in the region where the Cant Ranch was located. The Cant family raised irrigated crops and livestock for over sixty years on a tract of land that came to encompass over 11,000 acres. In 1975 the Cant Ranch complex was purchased by the National Park Service for incorporation into the John Day Fossil Beds National Monument.

Oregon Pioneers Oral History Collection, 1975-1978

The Oregon Pioneers Oral History Collection consists of 33 interviews conducted primarily in the summer of 1975 by Oregon State University students to document various aspects of local history from 1880 to 1929 in preparation for the United States bicentennial in 1976.

Of note in the collection (focusing on food*farming):

  • Box-Folder 2.18: Mullen, Floyd, August 1, 1975
    • Floyd Mullen was born east of Albany, Oregon in 1906 and remained a longtime resident. His grandparents settled in Oregon sometime in the 1800s. Subjects discussed include the Southern Pacific railroad, Willamette Valley farming, the Ketchum family, donation land claims, Lebanon paper mill, Quartzville and pioneer life. [Item OH01:18, interview conducted by Darrell Wolfe.]

Oregon's Agricultural Progress Magazine, 1953-2016 

Oregon Agricultural Progress Magazine is a report to the taxpayers of Oregon from Oregon State University's Agricultural Experiment Station demonstrating how agriculture contributes to the economy, environment, and social structure of Oregon and the world.  The print magazine was first published in 1953.  Issues of the magazine from 1953 to 1995 are available online in Oregon Digital.

Agricultural and Resource Economics Department Records, 1909-2008

The Agricultural and Resource Economics Department Records document research, teaching, and extension activities in agricultural economics and farm management at Oregon State University and provide extensive documentation of the economics of Oregon agriculture. The records include administrative materials, speeches and presentations, reports and original data for studies conducted by department faculty, records of the Western Rural Development Center, and extensive economic and statistical data on agriculture in Oregon assembled by the Oregon Agricultural Information Network (OAIN).

Oregon Counties Long-Range Planning Conference Reports, 1924-1971

The Oregon Counties Long-Range Planning Conference Reports document the economic conferences sponsored by the Extension Service in Oregon counties beginning in the 1920s. The reports include statistics on population, land use, farm incomes, and market value of agricultural products for the county at the time of the conference and recommendations regarding agriculture, land use, and economic development for the county. The reports include information about agricultural history of the county; railroads and highways; soils, irrigation, and water resources; livestock, poultry, and dairy; farm crops; horticultural products; farm home and rural life; 4-H and youth programs; and forests and timber production. Later reports include information pertaining to recreation; minerals and mining; cultural and religous life, and health and medical services.

Local Food History in the Main Collection

Searching the Main Collection of the library is extremely beneficial for sources. The sources span many decades, and can be pinpointed to find whatever you're searching for (or at least get you on the right track!) Don't let the overwhelming sources deter you! If you're unsure of sources or searching, don't be afraid to ask a librarian for research tips.

Some key terms to use when using 1Search: