Skip to main content

Oregon Food * Farming History

Archival and Manuscripts Collections on Nutrition

Oregon Nutrition Council Records, 1924-1988

The Oregon Nutrition Council Records document the establishment, governance, and activities of the Council. The Oregon Nutrition Council was established in 1924 to coordinate efforts of multiple organizations and health agencies in Oregon active in nutrition and health education. Oregon Agricultural College was a charter member institution.

Extension Service Records, 1903-2011

The Extension Service Records pertain to the administration and programmatic activities of the Oregon State University Extension Service. The records document policies and procedures, research activities, special events, and services provided to Oregonians at the state and county levels. They also document the service's relationship with the federal government and extension services in other states. The collection contains very extensive documentation of the Extension Service's work with nutrition throughout the state over multiple decades. 

History of Oregon State University Oral Histories and Sound Recordings, 1956-2012

The History of Oregon State University Oral Histories and Sound Recordings consist predominantly of oral histories conducted in 1956 by Lillian Van Loan for her doctoral dissertation on the history of Oregon State College and subsequent interviews done by Ilona Fry in 1980 on the development of liberal arts at Oregon State University. 

Of note in the collection:

  • Box-Folder 1.12: Williams, Jessamine, August 1, 1956 
    • Subjects discussed include Ava Milam Clark; School of Home Economics; Household Science Department; Foods and Nutrition Department; origins of State Nutrition Council; Maud Wilson; Margaret Fincke; Kate Jameson; Radio KFDJ 1923; Willetta Moore Smith.

Extension Family and Community Health Program Records, 1956-2012

The Extension Family and Community Health Program Records document educational programs developed and offered by Oregon State Extension faculty for Oregonians. The bulk of the collection consists of slide presentations, workshop leader guides and participant handouts, newsletters and other publications, and video productions on food buying, food preservation, meal preparation, and nutrition. The materials on nutrition are geared to multiple audiences including preschool children, teens, and adults. 

College of Home Economics and Education Records, 1913-2000

In addition to documenting administrative aspects of the College such as curriculum development, committee work, and funding, these records also highlight faculty and student research, programs in home economics at other colleges and universities, professional home economics organizations, updates on alumni, and the accreditation of the college. Notable materials related to nutrition include items on nutrition during WWII, nutrition for the elderly, and 4 scrapbooks from the Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program. 

Oregon State University Memorabilia Collection, ca. 1860-present

This massive collection of memorabilia and documents related to OSU history includes these specific mentions of nutrition, but also contains a number of files related to food and food history. Click on the finding aid link to do a Control-F search within the page for other keywords.

Things of note from the collection are:

  • Box-Folder 34.3: Case, Lucy M. - Nutrition Specialist, 1927-1938. Included are newspaper clippings, handwritten correspondence.
  • Box-Folder 68.17: Food Toxicology and Nutrition Laboratory, 2003-2004. Newspaper clippings.
  • Box-Folder 113.12: Nutrition Council, 1926. "Report of Family Food Record, February 1926", Nutrition Council
  • Box-Folder 113.13: Nutrition and Food Management Department, 1941-2003. Included are newspaper clippings, press release (1941), informational brochure.
  • Box-Folder 113.14: Nutrition Research Center, 1969-1988. Included are newspaper clippings, promotional brochures, departmental fliers.

KOAC Records, 1923-2000

The KOAC Records document the establishment and functioning of the KOAC public radio and television stations at Oregon Agricultural College (Oregon State University). The records include administrative records, radio scripts and programs, and sound recordings. Materials related to nutrition include scripts from a radio series on nutrition presented during the Depression.

Extension and Experiment Station Communications Records, 1934-2009

The Extension and Experiment Station Communications Records document preparation of publications, news releases, radio programs, and public service announcements by Oregon State University Extension programs in agriculture, home economics, marine resources, and 4-H. Subject files on the nutrition programs from 1970-1996 are included.

Extension Bulletin Illustrations Photograph Collection, 1915-1963

The Extension Bulletin Illustrations Photograph Collection consists of images that were created and assembled for use in Oregon State College Extension Service publications and county reports. The collection contains several images of nutrition demonstrations done by Extension Service staff in the early 20th century.

College of Home Economics Photograph Collection, 1920-1998

The College of Home Economics Photograph Collection includes images documenting various displays; the groundbreaking, construction and dedication of Bates Hall; slideshow presentations generated for instructional purposes; and a portrait of OSU alumnus Mercedes Bates. This collection contains multiple images of programs related to nutrition, including the Nutritional Research Group's Mobile Health laboratory in 1949.

Gwil Evans Photographic Collection, 1930-1968

The collection documents the full range of University programs and activities and includes images of campus buildings and development; student life; instruction and research; faculty, staff, and alumni; and Extension Service programs especially for the post-World War II period through the early 1960s.

College of Home Economics Motion Picture Films and Videotapes, 1950-1998

The College of Home Economics Motion Picture Films and Videotapes document home economics instruction and extension activities at Oregon State University and include footage of the home management houses in the 1950s; recordings of lectures and presentations; and promotions for the Family Living Center, College centennial, and the Mini-College extension program. Box 5 of this small collection contains a 1986 lecture on nutrition programs throughout the U.S.; other food and nutrition videos are also present.

Extension and Experiment Station Communications Moving Images, 1937-2007

This collection contains a number of videos and films that have some relation to the topic of nutrition, primarily dealing with the Extension Station's Expanded Food Nutrition Education Program from the mid-1970s. Many of these are educational "spots" that appeared on local television.

Graduate School Records, 1909-2007

Though the first graduate degree at OSU was conferred in 1875, a formal graduate program was not established until 1933. The Graduate School Records document the work of the OSU Graduate Committee/Council, the Oregon State System of Higher Education (OSSHE) Graduate Division, and the Advisory Committee for the Selection of the Graduate Dean as well as research conducted by graduate students. This collection contains a comprehensive overview of the Nutrition Research Institute at OSU from 1967-1971.

Ewan Cameron Papers, 1959-1994

Ewan Cameron (1922-1991), was a physician and researcher who, for many years, collaborated closely with Linus Pauling in studying the potential benefits of treating cancer with megadoses of vitamin C. His papers contain many of the personal and official letters, research notes, manuscripts, and scientific offprints that he and his estate accumulated over the years 1959-1994, with the bulk dating to his time of affiliation with the Linus Pauling Institute of Science and Medicine, 1971-1991. Many of his files relate to human nutrition and vitamin absorption.

See also: Vitamin C and Cancer: A Personal Perspective by Ewan Cameron.

Clara A. Storvick Papers, 1925-2002

The Clara A. Storvick Papers consist of reprints of journal articles written or co-authored by Storvick, a Professor of Foods and Nutrition, as well as publications, research notes and other materials that she generated and collected. The collection includes conference papers, a bibliography on vitamin B6 research articles, membership directories, photographs, two copies of Storvick's doctoral thesis, certificates, correspondence, employment records, newspaper clippings and a high school diploma. The publications, one book and one reprinted article, feature research by Storvick. Depicted in the photographs are subjects used in Storvick's doctoral work as well a colleague in a laboratory.

Roberta Frasier Anderson Papers, 1959-1974

The Roberta Frasier Anderson Papers document Anderson's work as Family Life Specialist with the Oregon State University Extension Service from 1959 to 1974 and include publications, conference papers, speeches, clippings and correspondence.The speeches include the text of a presentation by Anderson in the 1970 4-H Nutrition Education Workshop titled "Life Styles of Indian and Mexican-Americans as They Affect EFNEP (the Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program)."


Other key terms to use to search the SCARC collections:

Nutrition and Health in the Rare Book Collections

 The History of Science Rare Book Collection contains a growing sub-collection on the history of alternative nutrition and health. Early modern advice on medicinal uses for plants and herbs can be found in the herbals we hold from the 16th to the 18th century. The dawn of homeopathy and botanic medicine in the early 19th century is also represented in this sub-collection, as are vegetarian and fasting movements from the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The Personal Library of Ava Helen and Linus Pauling holds Pauling's library on vitamin and mineral therapies, diet reform, and healthy aging.

A great example of what's in SCARC's collections:

To locate materials in the rare book collections related to nutrition and health, search keywords such as:

 

Nutrition in the Main Collection

If you're unsure of sources or searching, don't be afraid to ask a librarian for research tips.

Some key terms to use when using 1Search:

*All key words were searched with "Oregon State University" as a search scope. 

Nutrition in ScholarsArchive@OSU

ScholarsArchive@OSU is Oregon State University's digital service for gathering, indexing, making available and storing the scholarly work of the Oregon State University community. It also includes materials from outside the institution in support of the university's land, sun, sea and space grant missions and other research interests.

The Department of Nutrition has an extensive collection in ScholarsArchive. 

Key terms that you can use while searching ScholarsArchive@OSU: