Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ACRL Statistics Instructions: Materials Expenditures (7, 7a, 7b, 7c)

OSULP Instructions: Materials Expenditures

Question 7: Total Library Materials -- Get figure from OSU accounting office (Shane Melton)

Question 7a: One-time resource purchases - report as Unavailable (UA)

Question 7b: Ongoing resource purchasesreport as Unavailable (UA)

Question 7c: Collection supportreport as Unavailable (UA)

In order to ease in the reporting as well as have consistent numbers from year to year, it is suggested to only report the Total Library Materials as reported by the OSU accounting office.  Per discussion with Library Administration, Questions 7a-7c are not worth parsing out and are not used to inform decision-making.

  FY09 FY10 FY11 FY12 FY13
7-Total Library Materials $6,251,652 $5,532,810 $5,548,691 $6,218,797 $5,217,266
7a-One Time Resource purchases  n/a  n/a  n/a  n/a  n/a
7b-Ongoing resource purchases  n/a  n/a  n/a  n/a  n/a
7c-Collection Support  n/a  n/a  n/a  n/a  n/a

ACRL Instructions: Materials Expenditures (Q7, 7a, 7b, 7c)

Questions 6-12. Expenditures. Report all expenditures of funds that come to the library from the regular institutional budget, and from sources such as research grants, special projects, gifts and endowments, and fees for service. (For Salaries and wages include non-library funds; see specific instructions below). Do not report encumbrances of funds that have not yet been expended. Canadian libraries should report expenditures in Canadian dollars. (For your information, if interested in determining figures in U.S. dollars, divide Canadian dollar amounts by 1.0046, the average monthly noon exchange rate published in the Bank of Canada Review for the period July 2012-June 2013). Please round figures to the nearest dollar. 

Question7. TotalLibraryMaterialsExpenditures.

Question 7a. One time library materials expenditures. Report expenditures for all library materials that are non- subscription, one-time, or monographic in nature; include expenditures for software and machine-readable materials considered part of the collections. Examples include periodical backfiles, literature collections, one-time costs for JSTOR membership, etc.

Question 7b. Ongoing library materials expenditures. Report subscription expenditures (or those which are expected to be ongoing commitments) for serial and other publications; include online searches of remote databasessuchasOCLCFirstSearch®,DIALOG®,Lexis-Nexis®,etc. Examplesincludepaidsubscriptionsforprint and electronic journals and indexes/abstracts available via the Internet, CD-ROM serials, and annual access fees for resources purchased on a “one-time” basis, such as literature collections, JSTOR membership, etc.

Question 7c. Collection support. Include miscellaneous expenditures as well as document delivery/interlibrary loan. Include materials funds expenditures not included in questions (7a)-(7b), e.g., expenditures for bibliographic utilities, literature searching, security devices, memberships for the purposes of publications, etc. Please list categories, with amounts, in a footnote. Note: If your library does not use materials funds for non-materials expendituresi.e., if those expenditures are included in Other Operating Expenditures”— report 0. Include all Contract Binding expenditures that is only contract expenditures for binding done outside the library. If all binding is done in-house, state this fact and give in-house expenditures in a footnote; do not include personnel expenditures in this question. Some computer hardware and software expenditures may be reported here if they are expended from collection funds.