Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ACRL Statistics Instructions: Titles Held (1)

1. OSULP Instructions: Titles Held

Question 1: Titles Held

This information is found on the Library Valuation Report that LAMP completes for insurance purposes.

Add the all the items from sheet Replacement Value of General Collections and sheet Replacement Value of Special Collections to arrive at Titles Held.

ACRL Instructions: Titles Held

Question 1. Titles Held. Report all the instances of titles managed and maintained by the library including 

cataloged, locally digitized, and licensed resources. Counting the 245 field when the library provides stewardship for those resources may be sufficient. 

The ANSI/NISO Z39.7-2004 definition for title is as follows: 

The designation of a separate bibliographic whole, whether issued in one or several volumes …. Titles are defined according to the Anglo-American Cataloging Rules. A book or serial title may be distinguished from other such titles by its unique International Standard Book Number (ISBN) or International Standard Serial Number (ISSN). This definition applies equally to print, audiovisual, and other library materials. For unpublished works, the term is used to designate a manuscript collection or an archival record series. Two subscriptions to Science magazine, for example, are counted as one title. When vertical file materials are counted, a file folder is considered a title. 

Report the total number of titles catalogued and made ready for use. Consider a title to be the title of a distinct bibliographic manifestation, usually represented by its own bibliographic description or record in the catalog. 

Count multiple copies of the same manifestation as one title. If the library owns or has access to identical content in different formats, count each format as a different title. For example, a serial title available in print, microform and online would be counted as three titles. Count different editions and versions of the same work as separate titles since they denote depth in the collection. 

Do not report here titles for which your library is not providing sustained stewardship and maintenance. 

Include special collections materials, government documents, serials and monographs; monographs; microforms, computer files, manuscripts and archives, audiovisual materials (cartographic, graphic, audio, film and video, etc.). Special collection materials in particular constitute resources of national/international distinction and the breadth and depth of these resources is a key indicator tied to the mission of research libraries. 

Include all materials where financial contribution has been made even if partial. 

Include gifts. 

If your library digitizes content from its own collection and the content is accessible under current copyright law you can report it. Do not count HathiTrust, CRL, Internet Archive, etc. unless your library owns the digitized item and it is accessible under current copyright law. 

For demand driven acquisition report titles only after they are purchased. If a library does not provide access to a title, do not report it