Skip to main content

Botany, Gardening, and Horticulture in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Illustrated Botanical Books in SCARC

Illustrated botanical books, including floralegia and flora, comprise a very rich subcollection within the Rare Book Collections. A florilegium (plural floralegia)  is a collection of flower illustrations. The term can also apply to a collection of illustrations of plants or flowers in a specific garden, or on a particular voyage. Flora is a term for the botanical records of all the plants associated with a particular country or environment. To find them, search keywords such as flora*, flower*, botan*, or specific flowers or plants such as tulip*.

The following is a partial list of some of the more notable illustrated botanical books in the collections:

Rea, JohnFlora, Seu, De Florum Cultura, Or, A Complete Florilege : Furnished with All the Requisites Belonging to a Florists : In III Books. London: Printed by J.G. for Richard Marriott ..., 1665. SB406 .R4 

Du Pinet, Antoine, and Linocier, GeoffroiL'histoire Des Plantes : Traduicte De Latin En François : Avec Leurs Pourtraicts, Noms, Qualitez & Lieux Où Elles Croissent, a Laquelle Sont Adioustees Celles Des Simples Aromatiques, Animaux À Quatre Pieds, Oiseaux, Poissons, Serpens & Autres Bestes Venimeuses, Ensemble Les Distillations. Seconde ed. A Paris: Chez Guillaume Macé, Au Mont S. Hilaire, a L'enseigne De La Pyramyde, 1620. QK41 .L5

Ferrari, Giovanni Battista. Hesperides, Sive, De Malorum Aureorum Cultura Et Usu Libri Quatuor. Romae: Sumptibus Hermanni Scheus, 1646. SB369 .F4 

Gmelin, Johann Georg, and Gmelin, Samuel Gottlieb. Flora Sibirica, Siue, Historia Plantarum Sibiriae ... Continens Tabulas Aeri Incisas ... Petropoli: Ex Typographia Academiae Scientiarum, 1747. QK375 .G5

Burman, Nikolaus Laurens. Flora Indica : Cui Accedit Series Zoophytorum Indicorum, Nec Non Prodromus Florae Capensis. Lugduni Batavorum : Amstelaedami: Apud C. Haek ; Apud J. Schreuderum, 1768. QK341 .B8

Sowerby, James, and Smith, James Edward. English Botany, Or, Coloured Figures of British Plants : With Their Essential Characters, Synonyms, and Places of Growth. London: Printed for the Author by J. Davis [etc], 1790. QK306 .S6 

 

Archival and Manuscript Collections

Helen M. Gilkey Papers, 1907-1974
These papers were generated and collected by Helen Gilkey, professor of botany and curator of the Herbarium at Oregon Agricultural College until her retirement in 1951. Gilkey's botanical drawings and plant identifications made her a well-known expert in the field. The papers include scientific illustrations, many drawn by Gilkey, and her thesis Oregon Mushrooms with hand-drawn and colored illustrations. 

Marian Field Collection, 1936-1982
The Marian Field Collection consists primarily of botanical drawings by Field for a Works Progress Administration (WPA) project. Most were drawn as a Works Progress Administration (WPA) project between 1936 and 1941 for Frank Sipe, a botanist at the University of Oregon who had hoped to publish a book using the drawings. 

Kareen Peiffer Laboratory Notes, 1930-1931
The Kareen Peiffer Laboratory Notes consist of laboratory notes and drawings made by Peiffer in botany and zoology courses at Oregon State College. Peiffer graduated from Oregon State in 1934 with a degree in education.


Fritz Marti Papers, 1909-2009
Fritz Marti (1894-1991), was a Swiss-born philosophy professor highly regarded as an expert on post-Kantian idealism. His student gymnasium notebooks contain illustrations for his botany studies.