Skip to main content

Botany, Gardening, and Horticulture in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Rare Books

The Rare Book Collections include a minor subcollection specifically on botanical gardens and landscape architecture. These items range from the 17th to the 21st century, and include everything from early modern Italian gardens to modern Oregon gardens. To find these items, search for keywords such as garden* or landscape*. The following list is a partial list of some of the more notable of these items in the Rare Book Collections:

Falda, Giovanni Battista, Rossi, Giovanni Giacomo De, and Felice, Simon. Li Giardini Di Roma : Con Le Loro Piante, Alzate E Vedvte in Prospettiva. Roma: 1670. SB466.I9 F23

Bowles, John. Versailles Illustrated; Or, Divers Views of the Several Parts of the Royal Palace of Versailles; as Likewise of All the Fountains, Groves, Parterras, Ye Labyrinth & Other Ye Most Beautiful Parts of the Gardens, Wherein Are Represented Whatever Is Remarkable, Whether Statues, Groups of Figures, Water Falls, Pleasure Houses &c. London: Printed & Sold by John Bowles, 1726. DC801.V57 B6

Whately, Thomas. Observations on Modern Gardening. 3d ed. London: Printed for T. Payne, 1771. SB471 .W5 1771

Loudon, J. C. A Treatise on Forming, Improving, and Managing Country Residences; and on the Choice of Situations Appropriate to Every Class of Purchasers ... London: Longman, Hurst, Rees, and Orme, 1806. SB471 .L6 

Price, UvedaleEssays on the Picturesque, as Compared with the Sublime and the Beautiful; And, on the Use of Studying Pictures, for the Purpose of Improving Real Landscape. London: Printed for J. Mawman, 1810. SB472 .P7

Downing, A. JA Treatise on the Theory and Practice of Landscape Gardening, Adapted to North America : With a View to the Improvement of Country Residences : Comprising Historical Notices and General Principles of the Art, Directions for Laying out Grounds and Arranging Plantations, the Description and Cultivation of Hardy Trees, Decorative Accompaniments to the House and Grounds, the Formation of Pieces of Artificial Water, Flower Gardens, Etc. : With Remarks on Rural Architecture. 4th Ed., Enl., Rev., and Newly Illustrated. ed. New York : London: George P. Putnam ; Longman, Brown, Green & Longmans, 1849. SB471 .D72 1849

Root, Ralph Rodney. Landscape Garden Series. Davenport, Ia.: Garden Press, 1921. SB472 .R75

Archival and Manuscript Collections

Landscape Architecture Department Records, 1932-1982
The Landscape Architecture Department Records document curriculum and instruction in landscape architecture at Oregon State University, department administration, extension activities, campus planning, and faculty research and publications. An academic program in landscape architecture was established at Oregon Agricultural College in 1911 and remained active until 1982.

Architecture and Landscape Architecture Department Photographs, 1910-1987
The Architecture and Landscape Architecture Department Photographs contain landscaping scenes, maps of landscaping, group and individual portraits, and maps of tree districts in Corvallis. Also housed in the collection are images of trees around campus, the Agricultural Hall, the thirtieth anniversary of Architecture and Landscaping, and the dedication of the campus gates. 

Arthur L. Peck Papers, 1904-1957
The collection includes essays pertaining to landscape gardening along Oregon highways, the role of trees in landscape design, and problems in rural and suburban landscaping. An early accession to this collection is comprised of 25 boxes of lantern slides of gardens and landscapes in Europe, primarily from just after World War II.

Facilities Services Records, 1888-2010
The Facilities Services Records document the physical campus of Oregon State University in Corvallis as well as OSU facilities throughout the state of Oregon beginning with construction of the first building on the current campus in 1888. 

Albert D. Taylor Collection, 1907-1928
The Albert D. Taylor Collection contains scrapbooks, landscape designs and surveys, photographs of scale models, and photographs and post cards documenting a trip to Europe taken during the summer of 1907.