Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding articles on Renewable Materials
When 1Search is insufficient or not working for you, consider a forestry, engineering, or business related database more tailored to your topic such as those listed below. These and others are available using the link to "Databases" on the library homepage. If you find you are only getting references to journals we don't have, ask for help or send me (Bonnie Avery) an email.
In general, you may need to rely on websites for trade publications and the library for scholarly/research based articles.
Academic Search Premier
Good place to start (though content should be available in a 1SEARCH search). It has a broad subject scope and much of the content is linked to full-text articles. You can limit to academic/scholarly journals.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present
This indexes the holdings of the National Agriculture Library. There are fewer links to full-text in the database but very often the information can be found online.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
Business Source Premier
Covers virtually all subject areas related to business. Included scholarly, trade, and popular press journals, many with a direct full-text link.
This is an an excellent international database for forestry and related fields. Limit your search to "cabicode = KK" then you will be searching the premier index of forestry journals and reports. It is not a full-text resources but most references can be located via OSU Library. "Subject" searches include titles, abstracts, descriptors terms. It's a good place to start but if you have a lot of irrelevant hits, find a relevant article and click on the best subject heading. Or use the "Thesaurus" to select your term.
Coverage Dates: 1910 - present
Compendex (Engineering Index)
Engineering Index (Compendex) covers all areas of engineering including civil, energy, and environmental.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
See instructions below to stay connected to OSU which doing a searches in Google Scholar (so you can use the Find at OSU feature). Good way to also find content in the ScholarsArchive@OSU from researchers at OSU.
Coverage Dates: coverage range - unknown
Primarily focused on news, business and legal topics with the full-text (no graphics) of articles indexed.
Coverage Dates: - Varies by title
Provides *selected* full text for 143 U.S. and international newspapers.
Coverage Dates: 1984 - present
Treesearch: USDA Forest Service Research Publications
Excellent one-stop shopping for article and reports of the US Forest Service. Searching is a bit clunky. Important for wood related research the fact that this holds the USFS Forest Products Lab (Madison) documents.
Coverage Dates: 2004 - present
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
SciFinder Scholar provides electronic searching of Chemical Abstracts (CA) so maybe helpful for the synthetic fabrics as well as chemical aspects for natural materials. You have to create an account to use this database, so it is not the place to start (but maybe a place to try when other things fail to give you the information you need).
Coverage Dates: 1907 - present
Google Scholar: preferences
When you want to link back to the OSU Library from GoogleScholar (so that the "Find it" links work like any other database) follow these steps:
- Go to Google Scholar (http://googlescholar.com)
- In the upper right corner of the screen next to "sign in" Click on the gear image and select "Scholar Preferences"
- Type in "Oregon State University Libraries" in the "Library Links search box.
- Then click "Save preferences.
From then on, as you search in GoogleScholar, you will find the "find it at OSU" link appears at the right of online journals to which you have access. For those that do not have a Find it link, you can still use interlibrary loan/scan &deliver to get them
Journals on Sustainability and Life Cycle Assessment
Use the journals below if you want to browse a couple of titles. But remember, you have access to many more articles about these topics though the databases or 1SEARCH.
If you start from the library homepage, electronic access to the full-text of articles is self-service but can involve a few steps. From a database: When you find an article of interest but the content is not available directly, follow the "360-Link to Full-text" to see if the library has access to the article.
- You will taken to the article (or a link to if there is more than one source) OR
- you will be taken to a page where you can check if it is in the "catalog" (i.e. if the library has the journal in its print collection) in which case you may want to come to the library and scan and email the article to yourself. The library is open 24 hours/day from Sunday through Thursday night.
- If you are not in a hurry or you can't come to the library, you can always use the "Request" link on that page. You will receive a pdf within 2 days if the journal is in the library's print collection. The PDF link is emailed to you and you have 21 days to use it or lose it. This service is called "Scan and Deliver" but it is connected to interlibrary loan as well so if it turns out we don't own the journal you will still get the article via an interlibrary loan;
- Interlibrary Loans are initiated when OSU Libraries does not own or have access to the article/book you need. Because the request is sent to other libraries, it usually takes longer but you WILL get the article PDF if we can identify a library that has it. Many but not all interlibrary loans are received within 3-5 business days.