LibGuides: FES 548: Invasive Plants: Biology, Ecology and Management: Finding articles

Finding articles (FS548)

Databases can help you locate articles in the peer reviewed/scholarly and grey literature on invasive species. The databases suggested below cover all aspects you are asked to consider. You can find the full range of database available to you from OSU Libraries (OSUL) using the link to "Databases" located under on the "Find it" tab on the OSUL home page.

If you see an article of interest, follow the "360 link to full-text" in order to have the article sent to you if it is not available in full-text.

AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This resources contains the indexed holdings of the USDA National Agriculture Library. Its contents may be duplicated in other databases -- currently attempts to index those serials of importance to the US which may be over looked in other databases (i.e. "grey literature.").
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is offered by a consortium of 12 major US and UK botanical and natural history libraries with a collection of 46,000-plus titles and 90,000-plus volumes. The biodiversity-related items range in date from 1450 to the present. The collection is patron driven; patrons may request items to be scanned into the digital library.
Coverage Dates: 1450 - present
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Foremost index for forestry worldwide, but also includes many other topics related to managed natural resources.
Coverage Dates: 1910 - present

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM)
Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary index to research articles from all fields in the environmental sciences. Indexes U.S. government environmental impact statements.
Coverage Dates: 1967 - present
Google Scholar
Uses the Google search engine to search for scholarly materials from around the world such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Some articles are available in full-text through links to OSU's journal subscriptions. See more informaton about setting up you Google Scholar Preferences on this page.
Coverage Dates: coverage range - unknown

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archival collection of journal articles, it does not provide access to the most current issues of the journals.
Coverage Dates: - Varies by Journal

Plant Management Network
The Plant Management Network database provides quick and easy access to fact sheets, newsletters, product listings, training resources, and related information. The database indexes all articles published in Applied Turfgrass Science, Plant Health Progress, Crop Management, and Forage and Grazinglands, and thousands of web-based resources hosted at PMN's partner university, company, and association websites.

Concurrent Users: unlimited
Coverage Dates: 1984 - present

Treesearch: USDA Forest Service Research Publications This link opens in a new window
Treesearch contains peer reviewed, published research findings of the U.S. Forest Service. Includes not only agency publications, but also articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books whose authors are employed by the Forest Service.
Coverage Dates: 2004 - present

Web of Science
Good starting point and also recommended if you have an older article which you want to follow up on and see how it has been cited in later articles on the same topic.
Coverage Dates: 1965 - present
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Index to journal articles, books, conference papers, government reports, theses and other literature covering all areas of wildlife research.
Coverage Dates: 1935 - present

Google Scholar: preferences

When you want to link back to the OSU Library from GoogleScholar (so that the "Find it" links work like any other database) follow these steps:

Go to Google Scholar (http://googlescholar.com)
In the upper right corner of the screen next to "sign in" Click on the gear image and select "Scholar Preferences"
Type in "Oregon State University Libraries" in the "Library Links search box.
Then click "Save preferences.

From then on, as you search in GoogleScholar, you will find the "find it at OSU" link appears at the right of online journals to which you have access. For those that do not have a Find it link, you can still use interlibrary loan/scan &deliver to get them

Libraries

FES 548: Invasive Plants: Biology, Ecology and Management

Finding articles (FS548)

Google Scholar: preferences

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches