LibGuides: *Defense Education: Find Articles

Where can I get more help?

Contact the OSU Libraries Information Desk

Call us at 541-737-7293
Text us at 541-526-7655
Email us
In person: The Information Desk is on the main (2nd) floor of the Valley Library.
Chat with a librarian (below)

Librarian

Diana Castillo

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

3rd Floor, Valley Library

541-737-9494

Subjects: Business, Defense Education, Design and Human Environment, Government Information & Law, Psychology & Counseling, Public Policy

Recommended Databases

Military and Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.
Coverage Dates: - present

Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The HSDL collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. The resources are reviewed and selected by a team of homeland security researchers and organized in a unique homeland security taxonomy. HSDL content includes state-of-the-art multi-media offerings and other valuable assets identified by CHDS master\'s degree participants and instructors.
Coverage Dates: - present

DTIC Online
The Defense Technical Information Center serves the Dept. of Defense community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available.
Coverage Dates: - present
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
Government sponsored research reports and technical papers from all areas of physical, life and applied science.
Coverage Dates: 1964 - present

About Articles and Reports

Professional journals are an important component of the literature of military and defense science and history. Usually, these periodicals contain articles that present detailed accounts of original research, supported with logical analysis and thorough documentation (charts, graphs, footnotes, bibliographies, etc.). They are essential secondary sources for in-depth research on a particular topic.You can find these in databases, just like research in other disciplines.

Another important resource are technical reports from a variety of government, military, and science agencies.These are (for the most part) primary sources. There are three major ways these are distributed:

as part of the FDLP, the Federal Depository Library Program (OSU is a long-time member of this program) so these reports can often be found in the library catalog
for sale by NTIS, the National Technical Information Service (an index can be found on the libraries' databases list, with many online, plus we have a large collection of NTIS microfiche on the 3rd floor)
distributed on the internet and on individual agency websites

Some considerable confusion on where and how to find reports exists due to multiple avenues of distribution. Please ask for assistance from the Information Desks if you are having problems tracking down a technical report.

Internet Resources

Following is a very brief example of some of the online resources available:

US Army War College at Carlisle Barracks: https://www.armywarcollege.edu/
Oregon Military Department's Public Affairs Office http://www.oregon.gov/OMD/AGPA/index.shtml The Public Affairs Office is responsible for providing information to the public concerning activities of the Oregon National Guard, responding to requests for information from the public and private sector, and providing information to active and retired members of the Oregon National Guard.This page includes a link to the newsletter Oregon Sentinal

Other Databases to Try

In addition to databases specifically covering military and defense science, you may also find important articles in the following databases.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions; updated daily.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,800 journals, full-text for 200 journals, and 80 ebooks this database is the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.

Countries and their Cultures 2001
A team of anthropologists and social scientists have taken a close look at more than 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture -- every bit as much as geographic borders -- defines and separates the nations of the world. Using a standard entry format for easy comparison, each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations are surveyed -- from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts. This 4-vol. set is lavishly illustrated with more than 1,000 photographs and more than 200 maps.
Coverage Dates: - 2001
.

Libraries

*Defense Education

Where can I get more help?

Librarian

Recommended Databases

About Articles and Reports

Internet Resources

Other Databases to Try

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches