Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ADA 30 @ OSU
The OSU community main resource page dedicated to the celebration of the Americans with Disabilities Act's 30th Anniversary
Disability is Diversity Blog by Kathleen Bogart, Ph.D.
A Psychology Today blog concerning "What everyone should know about ableism." Blogposts consist of: "7 Things to Understand on Moebius Syndrome Awareness Day," "3 Models Underlying Assumptions About Disability," "People With Rare Diseases Need Better Social Support," "Facing Job Interviews When You Have Facial Differences," "Facing Interviewees with Facial Paralysis," "How Disability Pride Fights Ableism," "Facial Paralysis Gave Me a "Mask-Like" Face."
OSU Disability Archives: Collections and Records
The OSU DisArchives are a community-created archival project seeking to preserve and share the stories of disabled people with connections to the OSU and Corvallis communities.
The History of the Americans with Disabilities Act
An article featured on the Disability Rights Education & Defense Fund website by Arlene Mayerson that provides a historical context of the American with Disabilities Act. This history is composed of protest, endurance, and litigation.
Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement (Alexander Street)
One person in seven experiences disability, yet the story of this community and its contributions is largely absent from the scholarly record. Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movementfills this gap, with a comprehensive and international set of resources to enrich study in a wide range of disciplines from media studies to philosophy. The collections includes primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with many hours of video. The content is essential for teaching and research—not only in the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.
A Disability History of the United States
The disability rights movement was energized by, overlapping with, and similar to other civil rights movements across the nation, as people with disabilities experienced the 1960s and 1970s as a time of excitement, organizational strength, and identity exploration. Like feminists, African Americans, and gay and lesbian activists, people with disabilities insisted that their bodies did not render them defective. Indeed, their bodies could even be sources of political, sexual, and artistic strength.
The Disability Rights Movement: From Deinstitutionalization to Self-Determination
This book provides a sound overview of the field of disabilities studies by integrating a review of the three major variations of disabilities: physical disabilities, cognitive disabilities and mental retardation. Author Duane Stroman reveals the evolving goals, key organizational actors, and many accomplishments of the disability rights movement. Stroman brings together, under one cover, the changing definitions of disability, the origins of deinstitutionalization of those with mental and physical disabilities and the current direction of the ever changing disability rights movement.
To Ride the Public's Buses: The Fight that Built a Movement
TO RIDE THE PUBLIC'S BUSES: THE FIGHT THAT BUILT THE MOVEMENT is the first in the "Disability Rag Reader" series, anthologies of articles on particular topics that appeared in the Disability Rag 1980-1996. TO RIDE THE PUBLIC'S BUSES, begins in the 1980's and chronicles the fight for equal opportunity rights for people with disabilities. Protests occurring during this time were fought to publicize the segregation and prejudice evident in the American Public Transit Association. With a Forward by Stephanie Thomas, Adapt organizer and editor for Incitement, this anthology chronicles the nationwide legal, political and personal issues involved with gearing up the movement and keeping it moving perpetually forward. Edited by Mary Johnson and Barrett Shaw, TO RIDE THE PUBLIC'S BUSES details the success of a group of activists fighting for wheelchair accessibility and equality in the eyes of the public.
Exile and Pride by
Publication Date: 2015-08-27
First published in 1999, the groundbreaking Exile and Pride is essential to the history and future of disability politics. Eli Clare's revelatory writing about his experiences as a white disabled genderqueer activist/writer established him as one of the leading writers on the intersections of queerness and disability and permanently changed the landscape of disability politics and queer liberation. With a poet's devotion to truth and an activist's demand for justice, Clare deftly unspools the multiple histories from which our ever-evolving sense of self unfolds. His essays weave together memoir, history, and political thinking to explore meanings and experiences of home: home as place, community, bodies, identity, and activism. Here readers will find an intersectional framework for understanding how we actually live with the daily hydraulics of oppression, power, and resistance. At the root of Clare's exploration of environmental destruction and capitalism, sexuality and institutional violence, gender and the body politic, is a call for social justice movements that are truly accessible to everyone. With heart and hammer, Exile and Pride pries open a window onto a world where our whole selves, in all their complexity, can be realized, loved, and embraced.
The Minority Body by
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Elizabeth Barnes argues compellingly that disability is primarily a social phenomenon - a way of being a minority, a way of facing social oppression, but not a way of being inherently or intrinsically worse off. This is how disability is understood in the Disability Rights and Disability Pridemovements; but there is a massive disconnect with the way disability is typically viewed within analytic philosophy. The idea that disability is not inherently bad or sub-optimal is one that many philosophers treat with open skepticism, and sometimes even with scorn. The goal of this book is toarticulate and defend a version of the view of disability that is common in the Disability Rights movement. Elizabeth Barnes argues that to be physically disabled is not to have a defective body, but simply to have a minority body.
Speaking for Ourselves by
Publication Date: 2018-06-08
From the advent of autism as a diagnosed disorder in the 1940s to the present day, the musical talents and affinities of autistic people have been widely recognized. Articles on autistic musical savants, studies on the high incidence of perfect pitch among autistic research subjects, andreports on the therapeutic value of music for autistic individuals have reinforced such impressions. Meanwhile, retrospective "diagnoses" of autism in late, great musicians such as pianist Glenn Gould and composer Bela Bartok have added an aura of mystique and allure to the popular image.Given all this attention to the integral connection between music and autism, it is surprising how little effort has been made to ask autistic people themselves about how they make and experience music, and why it matters to them that they do. In Speaking for Ourselves, renowned ethnomusicologistMichael Bakan does just that, engaging in deep conversations - some spanning over the course of years - with ten fascinating and very different individuals who share two basic things in common: an autism spectrum diagnosis and a life in which music is central. These conversations offer profoundinsights into the intricacies and intersections of music, autism, neurodiversity, and life in general, not from an autistic point of view, but rather from many different autistic points of view. They invite readers to partake of a rich tapestry of words, ideas, and musical sounds that speak to boththe diversity of autistic experience and the common humanity we all share.
Disability Visibility by
Publication Date: 2020-06-30
ONE OF THE PROGRESSIVE'S BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR One in five people in the United States lives with a disability. Some disabilities are visible, others less apparent--but all are underrepresented in media and popular culture. Now, just in time for the thirtieth anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act, activist Alice Wong brings together this urgent, galvanizing collection of contemporary essays by disabled people. From Harriet McBryde Johnson's account of her debate with Peter Singer over her own personhood to original pieces by authors like Keah Brown and Haben Girma; from blog posts, manifestos, and eulogies to Congressional testimonies, and beyond: this anthology gives a glimpse into the rich complexity of the disabled experience, highlighting the passions, talents, and everyday lives of this community. It invites readers to question their own understandings. It celebrates and documents disability culture in the now. It looks to the future and the past with hope and love.
Feminist, Queer, Crip by
Publication Date: 2013-05-16
In Feminist, Queer, Crip Alison Kafer imagines a different future for disability and disabled bodies. Challenging the ways in which ideas about the future and time have been deployed in the service of compulsory able-bodiedness and able-mindedness, Kafer rejects the idea of disability as a pre-determined limit. She juxtaposes theories, movements, and identities such as environmental justice, reproductive justice, cyborg theory, transgender politics, and disability that are typically discussed in isolation and envisions new possibilities for crip futures and feminist/queer/crip alliances. This bold book goes against the grain of normalization and promotes a political framework for a more just world.
Care Work by
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Leah Piepzna-Samarasinha is a poet and essayist whose most recent book, the memoir Dirty River, was a finalist for a Lambda Literary Award and the Publishing Triangle's Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction. She is also a long-time member of the disability justice movement, which advocates for the rights of the disabled. In her latest book of essays, Leah writes passionately and personally about disability justice, on subject such as the creation of care webs, collective access, and radically accessible spaces. She also imparts her own survivor skills and wisdom based on her years of activist work, empowering the disabled--in particular, those in queer and/or BIPOC communities--and granting them the necessary tools by which they can imagine a future where no one is left behind. Presently, disability justice and emotional/care work are buzzwords on many people's lips, and the disabled and sick are discovering new ways to build power within themselves and each other; at the same time, those powers remain at risk in this fragile political climate in which we find ourselves. Powerful and passionate, Care Work is a crucial and necessary call to arms.
Brilliant Imperfection by
Publication Date: 2017-01-06
In Brilliant Imperfection Eli Clare uses memoir, history, and critical analysis to explore cure--the deeply held belief that body-minds considered broken need to be fixed. Cure serves many purposes. It saves lives, manipulates lives, and prioritizes some lives over others. It provides comfort, makes profits, justifies violence, and promises resolution to body-mind loss. Clare grapples with this knot of contradictions, maintaining that neither an anti-cure politics nor a pro-cure worldview can account for the messy, complex relationships we have with our body-minds. The stories he tells range widely, stretching from disability stereotypes to weight loss surgery, gender transition to skin lightening creams. At each turn, Clare weaves race, disability, sexuality, class, and gender together, insisting on the nonnegotiable value of body-mind difference. Into this mix, he adds environmental politics, thinking about ecosystem loss and restoration as a way of delving more deeply into cure. Ultimately Brilliant Imperfection reveals cure to be an ideology grounded in the twin notions of normal and natural, slippery and powerful, necessary and damaging all at the same time.
Crip Theory by
Publication Date: 2006-06-01
A bold and contemporary discourse of the intersection of disability studies and queer studies Crip Theory attends to the contemporary cultures of disability and queerness that are coming out all over. Both disability studies and queer theory are centrally concerned with how bodies, pleasures, and identities are represented as "normal" or as abject, but Crip Theory is the first book to analyze thoroughly the ways in which these interdisciplinary fields inform each other. Drawing on feminist theory, African American and Latino/a cultural theories, composition studies, film and television studies, and theories of globalization and counter-globalization, Robert McRuer articulates the central concerns of crip theory and considers how such a critical perspective might impact cultural and historical inquiry in the humanities. Crip Theory puts forward readings of the Sharon Kowalski story, the performance art of Bob Flanagan, and the journals of Gary Fisher, as well as critiques of the domesticated queerness and disability marketed by the Millennium March, or Bravo TV's Queer Eye for the Straight Guy. McRuer examines how dominant and marginal bodily and sexual identities are composed, and considers the vibrant ways that disability and queerness unsettle and re-write those identities in order to insist that another world is possible.