Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives Research Center Services during COVID-19

Special Collections and Archives Research Center

SCARC’s on-site research appointments will be suspended over the summer, beginning June 14. On-site appointments will resume the second full week of fall term (October 4).

We will continue to respond to general and reference questions remotely via our department email, scarc@oregonstate.edu.

We apologize for any inconvenience, and appreciate your patience and understanding.

image of Library Reference Area in 1918

On-site Research Appointments

Due to limited staffing capacity, the Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC) will not offer drop-in consultation or reference services in fall; in-person collection consultations will be offered by appointment only until further notice. On-site researcher appointments will resume in the second full week of fall term (October 4). Appointments must be scheduled at least one (1) business day in advance. Appointment blocks will be offered once per day, four days a week at the following times: 

  • Mondays, from 10:00 am to 1:00 pm,

  • Tuesdays, from 1:00 to 4:00 pm,

  • Thursdays, from 1:00 to 4:00 pm, and

  • Fridays, from 10:00 am to 1:00 pm.

  • No appointments will be offered on Wednesdays.

Two researchers will be scheduled for the entirety of each appointment block. A third spot may be available for those patrons requiring access to microfilm exclusively; please contact us at scarc@oregonstate.edu for more information. 

For fall term, SCARC will be open through December 17th (the Friday after Finals Week), with occasional holiday- and class-related closures (please see our public calendar for more details). Please note that appointment availability is subject to change based on a number of extenuating factors, including but not limited to: staff availability, Valley Library hours, University-mandated curtailment of services, and inclement weather conditions.

SCARC will be closed for Winter Break December 20th through the 31st. We will continue to respond to general and reference questions remotely via our department email, scarc@oregonstate.edu, during this closure.

Research Service Updates

Though we’re back in our Reading Room on the fifth floor of the Valley Library, some of our services may look a little different this year. 

Paging-on-demand service will not be offered at this time; materials necessary to your research must be requested in advance, and will be limited to six (6) cubic feet of material. To ensure you’re able to make the most of your time with us, preliminary Zoom consultations are highly encouraged. We’re happy to help you make your visit a successful one in whatever way we can!

Our highest priority is to work with OSU classes and students, and we remain committed to providing high-quality teaching and research services. While SCARC’s on-site public services will be limited this academic year, remote reference inquiries are being addressed to the best of our ability. We will continue to respond to general and reference questions remotely via our department email, scarc@oregonstate.edu.

Library-Use-Only ILLs

A third appointment spot may be available for those patrons requiring access to In-Library-Use only ILLs on microfilm. For researchers requiring access to non-microfilm Library-Use-Only materials (e.g. books and other printed works), scanning arrangements may be made depending on the volume and delicacy of the material. If you'd like to view non-microfilm Library-Use-Only materials in person, an appointment is required.

Please contact us at scarc@oregonstate.edu for more information.

COVID-19 Precautions

SCARC staff are committed to mitigating the risks associated with on-site collection consultations, and will continue to make disinfecting supplies available to researchers. As per University requirements, all SCARC faculty, staff, and students have been fully vaccinated, and will wear face coverings at all times in all public areas on campus. In accordance with University policy, researchers must wear face coverings while in the Valley Library and in SCARC’s Reading Room. 

Remote reference inquiries will continue to be addressed to the best of our ability. If you’re unable to visit us in person, please contact us at scarc@oregonstate.edu.

Tours

In light of both our limited staffing capacity, and by appointment only research model, SCARC is not offering tours at this time. Please contact us at scarc@oregonstate.edu with any questions.

Digital Resources

There is a wealth of online content in Oregon Digital, on SCARC’s website, in ScholarsArchive@OSU, in SCARC LibGuides, and on OSU MediaSpace. Public services staff are available to assist you in navigating and searching these sites, and would be happy to schedule a Zoom consultation to answer any questions you have.

Chat with us!

Your archivists are here to help!

Staff of the library’s Special Collections and Archives Research Center are available for virtual reference consultations. Please email us at scarc@oregonstate.edu if you have questions or would like to set up an appointment.