Skip to main content

*OSU Libraries Services during COVID-19

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS & ARCHIVES RESEARCH CENTER

SCARC’s on-site public services are currently closed. 

Staff can provide teaching and instruction support.

In order to help ensure the health and safety of OSU faculty, staff, and students, and the Corvallis community at large, the Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC) will be closed to the public until further notice. 

SCARC remains committed to providing high quality teaching and research services and our highest priority is to work with OSU classes and students. However, during the COVID-19 crisis, and in accordance with the university’s mandate for faculty and staff to work remotely, SCARC staff will have a limited capacity for digitization for class instruction. 

We miss seeing you all in person in our reading room, but while SCARC’s on-site public services are currently closed, remote reference inquiries are being addressed to the best of our ability. We don't have the capacity to digitize materials for remote reference inquiries, there is online content in Oregon Digital, on the SCARC website, in ScholarsArchive@OSU, in SCARC LibGuides, on OSU MediaSpace, and non-OSU sites with appropriate digital content.

We will continue to respond to general and reference questions remotely via our department email, scarc@oregonstate.edu.

We apologize for the inconvenience, and appreciate your patience and understanding. We wish you continued good health.

 

ONLINE MATERIALS

We also have many online resources to support your research from afar!

KEY OREGON SITES WITH DIGITAL CONTENT

Historic Oregon Newspapers (University of Oregon) --  digitized Oregon newspapers from around the state from 1946 to the present. Nearly 1,300,000 pages are currently available.

Digital History Projects (Oregon Historical Society) -- a suite of comprehensive online resources pertaining to Oregon history, including the Oregon History Project, the Oregon Encyclopedia, and the Oregon History Wayfinder.

Southern Oregon Digital Archives (SODA; Southern Oregon University) -- A variety of digital collections pertaining to the history, culture, ecology and natural history of southern Oregon.

State Archives of Oregon Web Exhibits and Projects -- A broad range of web exhibits and online projects drawn from the State Archives of Oregon.

State Library of Oregon Digital Collections -- Current and historical state and local government publications and maps; federal publications focusing on Oregon and the Pacific Northwest; topical digital exhibits incorporating content from the State Library’s collections.

Portland State University Digital Exhibits -- A broad range of digital exhibits featuring content from PSU’s collections, with a focus on Portland area history.

COVID-19 COLLECTING INITIATIVE

The Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC) at Oregon State University Libraries and Press invites contributions from the OSU community to an archival collection that it’s creating to document experiences by individuals and organizations of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Those interested in participating are asked to submit text documents or digital images using a form available online. SCARC staff will also be collecting oral history interviews with those wishing to share a more personal account of this unique time in history. This project is similar to those happening at other universities.

For more information about the SCARC COVID Collecting Project, see the research guide or contact project coordinator Anna Dvorak at anna.dvorak@oregonstate.edu.

CHAT WITH US!

Your archivists are here for you!

SCARC's Reading Room will be closed for the summer, but Public Services staff are offering Zoom consultations by appointment, Monday - Friday. Please email us at scarc@oregonstate.edu to schedule an appointment.

Learn about using Zoom at https://is.oregonstate.edu/zoom

TEACHING

SCARC staff can provide remote instruction and research support for you and your students through recorded or live presentations, one-on-one meetings with students on Zoom or other audio/video platforms, and general brainstorming for how to use archival collections in your remote teaching.

OUTREACH

We’re away from our collections, but we still want to share them for you to engage with online. You can find all of our social media sites. And if you’d like to listen to some stories, our oral history collections are second to none

COLLECTION DONATIONS

At this time, we are unable to review or accept materials for donation or transfer to the Special Collections and Archives Research Center’s collections. However, if you have questions about a possible donation or transfer, please contact us at scarc@oregonstate.edu, so that we can begin communication with you now and arrange for in-person follow-up later.