Skip to main content

*OSU Libraries COVID-19 Updates

Updates about Library Services

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS & ARCHIVES RESEARCH CENTER

The Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC) remains committed to providing high quality teaching and research services during this time. Although our reading room is closed and staff are working outside the building, there are many ways that you can engage with us and our materials!

During the COVID-19 crisis, and in accordance with the university’s mandate for faculty and staff to work remotely, SCARC staff will have a limited capacity to provide digitization support for teaching and reference. Here is how we are prioritizing inquiries for digitization.

Instruction-related digitization:

  • High priority -- OSU classes that SCARC faculty are engaging with during spring term 2020. Reference inquiries from students in these classes will also be considered high priority.
  • Medium priority -- OSU classes for which SCARC is not directly engaged, including reference inquiries from students in these classes.
  • Low priority -- teaching related reference inquiries from students and faculty at other educational institutions.

SCARC presently does not have the capacity to digitize materials for remote reference inquiries that are not teaching/instruction related. SCARC faculty and staff will make every effort to direct remote patrons to online digital content in Oregon Digital, on the SCARC website, in ScholarsArchive@OSU, in SCARC LibGuides, on OSU MediaSpace, and to non-OSU sites with appropriate digital content.

ONLINE MATERIALS

We also have many online resources to support your research from afar!

KEY OREGON SITES WITH DIGITAL CONTENT

Historic Oregon Newspapers (University of Oregon) --  digitized Oregon newspapers from around the state from 1946 to the present. Nearly 1,300,000 pages are currently available.

Digital History Projects (Oregon Historical Society) -- a suite of comprehensive online resources pertaining to Oregon history, including the Oregon History Project, the Oregon Encyclopedia, and the Oregon History Wayfinder.

Southern Oregon Digital Archives (SODA; Southern Oregon University) -- A variety of digital collections pertaining to the history, culture, ecology and natural history of southern Oregon.

State Archives of Oregon Web Exhibits and Projects -- A broad range of web exhibits and online projects drawn from the State Archives of Oregon.

State Library of Oregon Digital Collections -- Current and historical state and local government publications and maps; federal publications focusing on Oregon and the Pacific Northwest; topical digital exhibits incorporating content from the State Library’s collections.

Portland State University Digital Exhibits -- A broad range of digital exhibits featuring content from PSU’s collections, with a focus on Portland area history.

CHAT WITH US!

Your archivists are here for you!

We're offering Zoom "open hours" for you to chat with us on either your computer or phone. 

MONDAY - FRIDAY 10:00-1:00 virtual reference hours

TUESDAY - THURSDAY 1:00-3:00 virtual class office hours

Learn about using Zoom at https://is.oregonstate.edu/zoom

RESEARCH

Although we miss seeing you all in person in our reading room while SCARC’s on-site public services are currently closed, remote reference inquiries are being addressed to the best of our ability. Inquiries should be sent to scarc@oregonstate.edu.

TEACHING

SCARC staff can provide remote instruction and research support for you and your students through recorded or live presentations, one-on-one meetings with students on Zoom or other audio/video platforms, and general brainstorming for how to use archival collections in your remote teaching.

OUTREACH

We’re away from our collections, but we still want to share them for you to engage with online. You can find all of our social media sites. And if you’d like to listen to some stories, our oral history collections are second to none

COLLECTION DONATIONS

At this time, we are unable to review or accept materials for donation or transfer to the Special Collections and Archives Research Center’s collections. However, if you have questions about a possible donation or transfer, please contact us at scarc@oregonstate.edu, so that we can begin communication with you now and arrange for in-person follow-up later.