Use 1Search from the library's home page to search for books in the Valley Library, OSU branch libraries including Guin Library, and Summit Libraries.
For more detailed help in using 1Search, you can check out the 1Search Research Guide.
Provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Peer reviewed articles are research articles that have been evaluated and approved by other experts in the field before being accepted for publication in a journal. To identify peer reviewed and scholarly articles, consider these elements:
1. AUTHOR: The author is always listed with the credentials that identify the author's expertise, such as university or research affiliation. The author often holds a Ph.D. in the subject area of the article. Contrast this to an author who writes on many different topics
2. LANGUAGE: The article language tends to be formal, sophisticated and technical, using the language that is particular to the discipline in which it is written. It is geared to other researchers in the same subject. Contrast this with popular articles that are written at an informal and basic level for easy understanding by the general public.
3. CONTENT: There if often an abstract at the beginning of the article which summarizes the content. The material is analytical in-depth and it often cites to a biblography of prior research. Contrast this with popular material that is written at a broad level.
4. GRAPICS: Except in the arts and humanities, graphics will tend to be charts and graphs illustrating the results of experiments, surveys, or formulas. Contrast this to popular literature, wich is heavily illustrated with colorful pictures.
5. LENGTH: Scholarly articles tend to be much longer than popular articles.
6. ADs: Scholarly literature has few or no ads. Compare this to popular literature which has many ads. This is not always easy to judge in on-line publications.
NOTE: In many databases, such as EBSCO, Gale, and Proquest it is possible to limit to Peer Reviewed/Scholarly. See illustrations for this at: University of California - Riverside
Full-text access to historical materials documenting the Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form. Includes approximately 60,000 historical articles and texts of over 1,100 historical books on Hispanic literature and culture. Content is 80% Spanish and 20% English but searchable in both languages. Colonial times until 1960.
Latinas in the United States, Set
by
The Oxford encyclopedia of Latinos & Latinas in the United States
by
