This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Human Development and Family Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Human Development and Family Sciences  

A general research guide for the undergraduate and graduate courses in OSU's Human Development & Family Sciences program.
Last Updated: Nov 18, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/subject-guide/616-Human-Development-and-Family-Sciences Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview

This guide addresses finding articles, books and other sources for HDFS research topics.

 

Finding the full text of an article

Locating articles: Once you find your citation, you will need to locate the journal to read the article. Some citations will have the full-text of the article available online. For others, click on this button:360 link to full text to see if OSU subscribes to the electronic or the paper copy of the journal. 360 will open a new window and will display a link to full-text when available. If it's not, click the link to the library catalog to check for a paper copy. If neither is available, request the article from Interlibrary Loan: http://osulibrary.orst.edu/ill/.

Recommended Databases

 

  • PsycInfo (via PsycNET)  Icon
    Index to journal articles, series and books for all areas of psychology including animal, applied, clinical, developmental, educational, general, human experimental, general, physiological, social and sport psychology, and treatment and prevention. The most comprehensive coverage of any database, with abstracts and indexes dating back to 1887.
    Coverage Dates: 1887 - present
  • Sociological Abstracts  Icon
    Index to articles from journals in sociology, social work and other social sciences.
    Coverage Dates: 1963 - present
  • PubMed/MEDLINE
    ndex to research articles covering all areas of medicine including clinical and experimental medicine; dentistry; health care administration; microbiology; nursing; paramedical professions; pathology; pharmacology; physiology; reproductive biology; psychiatry; psychology; toxicology; and veterinary medicine. PubMed is direct from the National Library of Medicine web site.
    Abstracts and index: 1966-present
  • Education Research Complete  Icon
    Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
    Coverage Dates: - Varies by title
  • ERIC (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    Index to research articles, government and independent reports and conference papers covering all areas of education at all levels. Includes thesaurus searching, links to the OSU Libraries Online Catalog and full text document service (EDRS), where applicable. Links are provided for full text articles and documents.
    Coverage Dates: 1966 - present

Other Databases to Try

  • Academic Search Premier  Icon
    Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
    Coverage Dates: 1975 - present
  • Academic OneFile  Icon
    The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
    Coverage Dates: 1980 - present
  • InfoTrac OneFile  Icon
    A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
    Coverage Dates: 1980 - present
  • LexisNexis Academic  Icon
    Comprehensive index to newspaper and magazine articles, radio and TV news program transcripts, legal material and other reference sources. Primarily focused on news, business and legal topics.
    Coverage Dates: - Varies by title
  • ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research  Icon
    The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest data archive. ICPSR acquires, processes and distributes social science data collected by government agencies and other researchers. The data holdings cover a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law.
    Coverage Dates: - present
  • Statistical Abstract  Icon
    A collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also a guide to sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.
    Coverage Dates: - 2006
  • SimplyMap  Icon
    SimplyMap is an Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Professional mapping applications take over 20 hours of training to use, SimplyMap has been designed to be incredibly user friendly - most users are up and running with less than 10 minutes of training. Free registration required.
    Coverage Dates: 2000 - present
 

HDFS online resources

GERONTOLOGY

Internet Resources on Aging from AARP - The web sites in AARP's Internet Resources on Aging are chosen for their usefulness for older adults and their families, as well as for researchers, students, and professionals in the field of aging.(not frequently updated)

Alliance for Aging Research - A private, not-for-profit national citizen advocacy organization that advances biomedical and behavioral research in aging and health. The Alliance was founded in 1986 to promote and accelerate medical and scientific research into aging.http://www.agingresearch.org/

DEMOGRAPHICS

Pew Social & Demographic Trends
http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/

The Pew Research Center’s Social & Demographic Trends project studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure. The project explores these topics by combining original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis.

The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan “fact tank” that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues. The Pew Research Center is an independent subsidiary of the Pew Charitable Trusts.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip