|Find Articles Print Page|
Psychology-specific databases at OSU Libraries
The PILOTS database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
Most people want articles about a subject and don't know what specific journals or authors to look for. For this, you can use 1Search or you can choose to search specific databases. The advantage to searching databases is being able to focus on searching publications specifically covering your subject area; 1Search looks in many places and can get you started more quickly.
Basic multi-disciplinary databases can be useful for locating magazine and newspaper articles to give you background information on your subject, and also find many peer-reviewed research articles.
Several psychology-specific databases that concentrate on literature devoted to the subject are available to you.
Finally, psychology is often not limited to psychology-focused resources but touches upon other subjects as well: education, health, sociology, and sports are some examples. It can often be useful to use other subject-specific databases in related areas of study to broaden your results.
Databases for related subject areas of Education, Sociology, Sports, Health, and Criminal Justice.
This search engine streamlines your research process by finding library content across all our various resources--especially helpful when starting your search. Use it to discover books, documents, videos and online articles. If you need to find specific items, such as books by a particular author, use the advanced search option for more precise searching.