Counseling
This is the "Find Articles" page of the "*Psychology*" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

*Psychology*  

A general research guide for the undergraduate and graduate courses in OSU's Psychology program.
Last Updated: May 7, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/subject-guide/501-Psychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommended Databases

Psychology-specific databases at OSU Libraries

  • PsycInfo  Icon

    1887 - present

    Index to journal articles, series and books for all areas of psychology including animal, applied, clinical, developmental, educational, general, human experimental, general, physiological, social and sport psychology, and treatment and prevention.
    Abstracts and index: 1887-present
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  Icon
    1965 - present


    This database provides coverage of nearly 550 full text journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

    Concurrent Users: unlimited
  • Psychology Collection  Icon

    1980 - present

    This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Researchers will have access to nearly 500 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals - many cited in the PsycINFO index.

Post-Traumatic Stress Database

The PILOTS database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.

  • PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress)  Icon
    1871 - present

    The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.

Other Psyc

  • Sociological Abstracts  Icon
    1963 - present

    Index to articles from journals in sociology, social work and other social sciences.
    Abstracts and index: 1963-present
  • Criminal Justice Collection  Icon
    1980 - present

    Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, forensic scientist or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge, this collection offers more than 700 journals.
  • ERIC (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    1966 - present

    Index to research articles, government and independent reports and conference papers covering all areas of education at all levels.
    1966-present. Includes links to full-text journal articles when available. EDRS documents that are not available online may be located in the OSU Valley Library microfiche collection by ED number.
    Concurrent Users: unlimited
 

Searching Databases

Most people want articles about a subject and don't know what specific journals or authors to look for. For this, you can use 1Search or you can choose to search specific databases. The advantage to searching databases is being able to focus on searching publications specifically covering your subject area; 1Search looks in many places and can get you started more quickly.

Basic multi-disciplinary databases can be useful for locating magazine and newspaper articles to give you background information on your subject, and also find many peer-reviewed research articles.

Several psychology-specific databases that concentrate on literature devoted to the subject are available to you.

Finally, psychology is often not limited to psychology-focused resources but touches upon other subjects as well: education, health, sociology, and sports are some examples. It can often be useful to use other subject-specific databases in related areas of study to broaden your results.

Librarian

Profile Image
Stefanie Buck
Contact Info
Office Hours: By Appointment (Please email or call 541-737-7273)
Office Location: The Valley Library
Send Email

Rare Books and History of Science Librarian in SCARC

Profile Image
Anne Bahde
Contact Info
121 The Valley Library
Corvallis, OR 97331
541.737.2083
http://scarc.library.oregonstate.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip