Counseling
This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology  

A general research guide for the undergraduate and graduate courses in OSU's Psychology program.
Last Updated: Sep 2, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/subject-guide/501-Psychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommended Databases

Psychology-specific databases at OSU Libraries

  • PsycInfo (via PsycNET)  Icon
    The primary index to journal articles, series and books for all areas of psychology. Some full-text or links out to full-text articles available through OSU's other sources.
    Coverage Dates: 1887 - present
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  Icon
    Coverage of nearly 550 full text journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Updated daily via EBSCOhost.
    Coverage Dates: 1965 - present
  • Psychology Collection  Icon
    A basic collection covering nearly 500 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals - many cited in the PsycINFO index.
    Coverage Dates: 1980 - present
 

Post-Traumatic Stress Database

The PILOTS database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.

 

Searching Databases

Most people want articles about a subject and don't know what specific journals or authors to look for. For this, you can use 1Search or you can choose to search specific databases. The advantage to searching databases is being able to focus on searching publications specifically covering your subject area; 1Search looks in many places and can get you started more quickly.

Basic multi-disciplinary databases can be useful for locating magazine and newspaper articles to give you background information on your subject, and also find many peer-reviewed research articles.

Several psychology-specific databases that concentrate on literature devoted to the subject are available to you.

Finally, psychology is often not limited to psychology-focused resources but touches upon other subjects as well: education, health, sociology, and sports are some examples. It can often be useful to use other subject-specific databases in related areas of study to broaden your results.

Other Databases to Try

Databases for related subject areas of Education, Sociology, Sports, Health, and Criminal Justice.

  • Web of Science  Icon
    The web version of Science Citation Index (SCI) and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
    Science Citation Index 1970-present
    Social Science Citation Index 1970-present

    Concurrent Users: unlimited
    Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
  • Medline (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    Authoritative medical information. Created by the National Library of Medicine, it allows users to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.
    Coverage Dates: 1950 - present
  • Sociological Abstracts  Icon
    Index to articles from journals in sociology, social work and other social sciences.
    Coverage Dates: 1963 - present
  • ERIC (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    Index to research articles, government and independent reports and conference papers covering all areas of education at all levels. Includes thesaurus searching, links to the OSU Libraries Online Catalog and full text document service (EDRS).
    Coverage Dates: 1966 - present
  • Education Research Complete  Icon
    Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
    Coverage Dates: - Varies by title
  • SPORT Discus  Icon
    A comprehensive database of sport and fitness literature on topics including exercise psychology and psychology.
    Coverage Dates: 1800 - present
  • Health Source  Icon
    Health Source has two editions: Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition and Health Source: Consumer Edition.
    Coverage Dates: 1975 - present
  • Criminal Justice Collection  Icon
    Offers more than 700 journals.
    Coverage Dates: 1980 - present
 

1Search

You do allow embedded content.

1search logo

This search engine streamlines your research process by finding library content across all our various resources--especially helpful when starting your search. Use it to discover books, documents, videos and online articles. If you need to find specific items, such as books by a particular author, use the advanced search option for more precise searching.

<Learn More>

Librarian

Profile Image
Stefanie Buck
Contact Info
Office Hours: By Appointment (Please email or call 541-737-7273)
Office Location: The Valley Library
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip