This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Chemistry " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry  

This is a general research guide for undergraduate and graduate courses in Chemistry
Last Updated: Nov 29, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/subject-guide/461-Chemistry- Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommended Databases

Databases are used to locate journal articles from hundreds or even thousands of journals.  Some journals will be available online (e-journals), some in print only and some will be available both online and in print.

  • SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)  Icon
    SciFinder Scholar provides electronic searching of Chemical Abstracts (CA) and the CAS Registry file. CA is the world\'s largest and most up-to-date collection of chemical information, with more than 20 million abstracts of journal articles, patents, and more. CAS Registry contains more than 24,000,000 substance records, including more than 16,000,000 organic and inorganic substances and 4,000,000 biosequences. The Registry is the world\'s largest collection of organic substance records.
    Coverage Dates: 1907 - present
  • Reaxys  Icon
    Reaxys is a chemistry database based on the Beilstein and Gmelin databases. It is an intuitive web-application with powerful and flexible search capabilities, including searching by reaction, substance, and/or numeric property data. Substance searching includes (sub-)structure, generic and R-group searching, molecular formula, name and many more choices. Results - reactions and measured substance data - are presented in easy-to-read tabular views. Intelligent filter and ranking tools allow to determine the most relevant data from a unique data source.
    Coverage Dates: 1771 - present
  • Web of Science  Icon
    The web version of Science Citation Index (SCI) and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
    Science Citation Index 1970-present
    Social Science Citation Index 1970-present
  • Compendex (Engineering Index)  Icon
    Engineering Index (Compendex) contains indexing and abstracts for all areas of engineering, including Chemical Engineering.
    Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
  • Medline (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
    Coverage Dates: 1950 - present
 

1Search

You do allow embedded content.

Kristick Profile

Profile Image
Laurel Kristick
 

Useful Websites

ChemxSeer
Integrated digital library and database allowing for intelligent search of documents in the chemistry domain and data obtained from chemical kinetics.

Scirus (Advanced search option recommended)
Scirus searches over 415 million science-specific web pages for scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data. It covers the latest technical reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, pre prints and journals. Links in the search results will often lead to OSU Libraries' subscriptions to full-text articles.

 

Electronic Journals

OSU Libraries subscribes to over 20,000 electronic journals (e-journals). It's easiest to search the e-journals if you have a specific journal or citation to locate.  Always note the date range available for each journal subscription.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip