Skip to main content

Facts and Figures

Tips and tools to help find statistics and other facts and figures.

Facts and Statistics

General Statistics Websites

Public Opinion

Gallup Organization
Public opinion polls, which provide "measurement and analysis of people's attitudes, opinions, and behavior." Includes a full-text poll archive on various topics.

Polling Report
Survey of trends affecting elections, government, and business. Includes Gallup, Harris, Yankelovich, Princeton Survey Research Associates, network news polls, and more. Main categories are Politics and Policy; Business / Economy; American Scene; Insights; and National Barometer; with an extensive table of contents. Searchable.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science datasets, including public opinion polls, for research and instruction.

See Political Science Subject Research Guide for more.

Government & the Economy

United States Bureau of Labor Statistics   The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. The BLS is an independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor. The BLS also serves as a statistical resource to the Department of Labor.

U.S. Census Bureau

for more information about government statistics resources, see the Government Information Guide

International Statistics

Almanacs

Infoplease.com  (free) An online almanac, atlas, encyclopedia, dictionary and thesaurus in one place.

Population & Housing

U.S. Census Bureau

American FactFinder  The new Census tool: source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data, from community Fact Sheets to detailed Data Sets.

Population Research Center at Portland State University College of Urban & Public Affairs.  Includes the Oregon Census State Data Center, the Annual Population Estimates and Oregon Population Forecast Program.

American Community Survey  from the Census Bureau. The American Community Survey (ACS) is a mandatory, ongoing statistical survey that samples a small percentage of the population every year -- giving communities the information they need to plan investments and services.

Social Issues

Pew Social & Demographic Trends  http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/  The Pew Research Center’s Social & Demographic Trends project studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure. The project explores these topics by combining original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis.

Child Trends Databank.  http://www.childtrendsdatabank.org/
National trends and research on over 80 key indicators of child and youth well-being.

NCES: National Center for Education Statistics. http://nces.ed.gov/
Data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. Includes Digest of Educational Statistics.

NCHS: National Center for Health Statistics. http://www.cdc.gov/nchs  
Monitoring the nation's health; includes Health United States, showing national trends in health and health care.

National Institute of Mental Health - Statistics  http://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/statistics/index.shtml Understanding the scope of mental health problems and treatment in the United States.

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics. http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/
Brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States.

GSS: General Social Survey. http://www.norc.org/GSS+Website/
A standard "core" of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions. Many questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies. A unique and valuable resource, GSS has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades. (Some facility with data files is recommended, although pre-generated tables are available.)

Mapping