This is the "Historical Newspaper" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History  

Last Updated: Oct 27, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/subject-guide/381-History Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Historical Newspaper Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Historical Newspapers

Here is a list of newspapers, historical and current, on microfilm at Valley Library.

Search these full-text databases for historical news:

American Periodicals Series a database of magazines and newspapers from 1740-1900. This unique and valuable collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741-1900, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched. Deriving from the acclaimed American Periodicals Series microform collection, APS Online features over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.

America's Historical Newspapers a database of newspapers from 1690-1876. Also known as Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876. This historical collection contains hundreds of historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography and in additional subsequent bibliographies.

Here is a list of historical Oregon newspapers in microfilm on the 3rd floor of The Valley Library.

For locating historical citations from newspapers, you can try Google News Archive. After identifying citations, check if OSU Libraries holds the newspaper and if we don't, request it from interlibrary loan.

Photo courtesy of Pingu1963.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip