Depository Library Information
Congressional HearingsHistorical Congressional Research
National StatisticsOregon StatisticsInternational Statistics
This is the "Overview" page of the "Government Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Information  

Finding government resources at OSU, including Federal, State, and International, Census and statistical resources, and subject specific information.
Last Updated: Oct 5, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/subject-guide/286-Government-Information Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In The News

First 2012 Economic Census Report Released (U.S. Census Bureau)

The 2012 Economic Census Advance Report is now available on our website, business.census.gov and will be in American FactFinder tomorrow (3/27). This report highlights national-level data for over 100 industry groups, including number of establishments, revenue, payroll and number of employees. Visit our Advance Report page to view the data. Additional releases of detailed industry and geography statistics will be released over a two-year period, through June 2016.


Webinars on GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys)

The next two live training webinars on navigating GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) will be offered Thursday, April 3, 2014.

Register today for “Introduction to FDsys.” 

·         Start Time: 11:00 a.m.

·         Duration: 1 hour

·         Summary: During this introductory course on navigating Federal Government information using FDsys, attendees will learn basic and advanced searching, browsing, retrieving by citation, help tools, and working with FDsys search results. 

Register today for “Advanced Navigation in FDsys.” 

·         Start Time: 1:00 p.m.

·         Duration: 1.5 hours

·         Summary: This course focuses on tracking Federal legislation and regulations in FDsys.

 

Webinar: Public Papers of the Presidents in FDsys

A live training Webinar, "Public Papers of the Presidents in FDsys," will be offered on Tuesday, April 8, 2014.

Register today for “Public Papers of the Presidents in FDsys” 

·         Start Time: 2:00 p.m. Eastern Time

·         Duration: 45 minutes

·         Summary: In this tutorial, attendees will learn about the “Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States” collection in GPO’s Federal Digital System. The session will include background information and an in-depth look at Public Papers of the Presidents, descriptions of documents contained within the Public Papers publication, and a demonstration of various search strategies.

 

Webinar: U.S. Courts Opinions: An FDsys Collection

A live training webinar, “U.S. Courts Opinions: An FDsys Collection,” will be offered on Thursday, April 17, 2014.

Register today for “U.S. Courts Opinions: An FDsys Collection.”

·         Date: April 17, 2014

·         Start Time: 2:00 p.m. Eastern Time

·         Duration: 60 minutes

·         Summary: At the conclusion of the webinar, participants will be able to:

  • Identify the courts of the opinions collection on GPO’s Federal Digital System;
  • Navigate the collection; and
  • Find opinions from multiple access points.

Registration for all FDLP Webinars is required. Space is limited on a first-come, first-served basis. Upon registering, an e-mail confirmation of registration for each session will include instructions for joining the webinars.

Registration confirmations for each webinar will be sent from sqldba @icohere.com. To ensure delivery of registration confirmations, registrants should configure junk mail or spam filter(s) to permit messages from that e-mail address. 

You can also view archived webinars on GPO's webinar archive page. Subscribe to the RSS feed to be alerted when new webinars are posted to the archive.

 

Government Information Locations in the Valley Library

Federal and State documents at the Valley Library can be found in a variety of places. The most recent documents are often online only, and can be located with a search of the library catalog; links to these documents are found in the catalog record. Many of our tangible (physical) documents are given a classification number in the Library of Congress (LC) system and located in the regular book stacks with our other items. Others are classified in Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification (or OrDocs in the case of Oregon documents) and are found in the 3rd floor collections (shelves, CD/DVD cases, or microfiche cases). Records for all of them are included in the OSU Libraries online catalog. As you can see, it is essential to note both call numbers and locations in the catalog record.

What is SuDoc? Many of our federal documents are classified in the Library of Congress (LC) classification system and shelved with the other books, but we do have a significant number of documents classified in SuDoc. This is a system that arranges publications by the agency that produced them, NOT by subject like LC. At the Valley Library, these are all located on the 3rd floor. To learn more, please see How to Read Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) and Oregon Document (OrDocs) Call Numbers from our friends at OIT: http://www.oit.edu/libraries/library/sudocs_ordocs.pdf

Government Documents Services

Reference Service

Help with searching and finding government documents is available at the Information Desk in The Valley Library.  Help via instant messaging, e-mail, text, and phone is available--see Ask Us

Library Instruction

Instruction on finding and using government documents is available for classes and groups and can be tailored to the needs of the students or audience.  Possible topics include

  • finding documents through the OSU Libraries' catalog and the Internet
  • searching government databases
  • becoming familiar with government agencies/offices and their publications
  • governments statistics and how to find them
  • assessing government information and web sites
  • citing government documents

Classes can be scheduled by contacting the Government Information Librarian, Valery King.

Checking Out Documents

Many government documents are available in electronic form, linked in the library catalog or available directly from government databases or the Internet.  The OSU Libraries has a large collection of circulating documents as well.  Many of these are located on the 3rd floor; others are cataloged and shelved within the library stacks. Be sure to check the catalog record to find out what format your document is (paper, microfiche, CD/DVD, online etc.) and the physical location of the document. The table below provides location information and circulation status for documents:

Loan periods for government documents
FormatLocationCirculate?
print / SuDoc number 3rd floor Documents section yes
print / LC call numbers in stacks with other LC call numbers yes
microfiche 3rd floor microfiche cases no
CD-ROM/  DVD-ROM 3rd floor CD cases most do
maps 3rd floor maps cases yes

Locators and Finding Aids

  • OSU Libraries Catalog
    OSU Libraries includes documents (even online documents) in the online catalog. SuDoc and OrDoc numbers can be searched (like call numbers) in the Numbers Search.
  • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
    The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
  • THOMAS.gov
    From the Library of Congress. Launched in 1995 as a bipartisan initiative of Congress, THOMAS makes federal legislative information freely available to the public. Includes: Bills, Resolutions / Congressional Record / Presidential Nominations / Treaties / Committee Reports / Video of House and Senate Floor Activity / Links to Congressional information from official and non-official sources
    Covers 1989 (101st Congress) to present.
    Although it is being replaced by CONGRESS.GOV (link below), THOMAS will continue to be available until the transition is complete sometime in late 2014.
  • CONGRESS.GOV
    Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information. It replaces the nearly 20-year-old THOMAS.gov site with a system that includes platform mobility, comprehensive information retrieval and user-friendly presentation. It currently includes all data sets available on THOMAS.gov except nominations, treaties and communications. These data sets will be added throughout 2014. Until that time they are still accessible through THOMAS.gov via the link above. THOMAS.gov will be permanently retired by the end of 2014.
  • Digitization Projects Registry
    Contains records of publicly accessible collections that include significant numbers of digitized copies of U.S. Government publications. OSU contributed the U.S. Forest Service Research Legacy
  • FedWorld.gov
    A gateway to government information, managed by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
  • CyberCemetary  
      
    Provides permanent public access to the Web sites and publications of defunct U.S. government agencies and commissions. Very useful when presidential administrations change.
  • United States Government Manual
    Official handbook of the Federal Government. Provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches, as well as quasi-official agencies, boards, commissions, and committees.
  • Browse Topics
    Browse Topics is a resource designed to be the pathway to any publicly-accessible, Government information. Maintained by volunteer librarians, Browse Topics helps the public locate data, conduct research, and learn about various government Web sites.
  • Cross Agency Portals
    Special government websites with information on a particular topic.
  • Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909
    A digitization of a standard historical reference work. Lists Agency and Congressional documents, including Serial Set.
  • DTIC Online
    Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available (full text available)
  • GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations
    From UC San Diego, the most thorough site for locating government acronyms. The site not only lists the acronyms of hundreds of government departments, agencies and programs, it also links to their websites.
 

FDsys

FDsyslogo

FDsys has replaced GPOAccess as the primary public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies. Featured collections include Code of Federal Regulations; United States Code; Federal Register; Congressional Bills, Documents, Hearings and Reports; Congressional Record; Compilation of Presidential Documents; Economic Indicators; Public and Private Laws.

FDsys is easy to use, but there are several robust help documents available. There is a User Manual (in pdf, download from http://www.gpo.gov/help/fdsys_user_manual.htm), and searchable online help is available throughout.

 

Find Your Legislators

Oregon2012 delegation

U.S. Senate

Senator Ron Wyden (D)
Senator Jeff Merkley (D)

U.S. House of Representatives

District 01 Suzanne Bonamici (D)
District 02 Greg Walden (R)
District 03 Earl Blumenauer (D)
District 04 Peter A. DeFazio (D)
District 05 Kurt Schrader (D)

 

Oregon Congressional Districts  (map from the Oregon Blue Book)

State Senators & Representatives: Find Your Legislator at http://www.leg.state.or.us/findlegsltr/home.htm

Redistricting: The Oregon Legislature and the governor approved the Congressional redistricting plan on June 30, 2011. Visit the website to see the changes: http://www.leg.state.or.us/redistricting/

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Valery King
Contact Info
The Valley Library
541-737-7318
Send Email
 

Citing Government Information

Electronic resources:

Citing Government Documents: American Psychological Association (University of Nebraska Kearney)

Citing Government Information Sources Using MLA (Modern Language Association) Style (Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, Univ. of Nevada, Reno)

DocsCite (Arizona State University Libraries) helps with both MLA and APA styles.

Print resource:

The Bluebook: a uniform system of citation. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard Law Review Association. Valley  KF245 .B58 2010 (19th edition)

 

Federal Depositories

depository logoThe Valley Library at OSU is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip