This is the "Secondary Sources" page of the "History of Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History of Science  

Last Updated: Feb 26, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/subject-guide/171-History-of-Science Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Secondary Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Books

OSU Libraries Catalog: search for books located at Valley library and OSU's other libraries.

For help using the new Library Catalog, see this guide

Google Books: Use the advanced search and limit by publication date, full view and public domain to find both primary and secondary sources. 

Summit Borrowing

You can borrow books from Summit  libraries and have them sent to one of the OSU Libraries.

To search Summit, choose the OSU Libraries + Summit scope from the drop-down menu.

OSU Libraries and Summit scope

To request an item from Summit, click on the Availability and Request Options tab.

To see which libraries own the item, click on the Summit Libraries(n) link. The (n) indicates the number of libraries that own the item.

Summit requesting options

To request the item, click on the Place Summit request link and fill in the form. Click on Request.

Summit request form

You will be notified via email when you item has arrived and is available for pick-up.

      

    Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

    • In general, start your searching with just one or two keywords. Add more as needed.
    • Be sure to try your topic in more than one database.
    • Read citations and abstracts to get ideas of different keywords to represent your topic.
    • If the full text of the article, is not available, click 360 Link to Full Text to check if OSU subscribes to the journal.
      360 Link to Full Text
    • America: History and Life  Icon
      Scholarly citations and articles covering world history. Type chem* to find the words chemist and chemical. Use quotes, "Linus Pauling", so the terms are searched as a phrase. Can limit by language (recommended). Can limit by Historical Period.
      Coverage Dates: 1964 -
    • Historical Abstracts  Icon
      Scholarly citations and articles covering world history. Type chem* to find the words chemist and chemical. Use quotes, "Linus Pauling", so the terms are searched as a phrase. Can limit by language (recommended). Can limit by Historical Period.
      Coverage Dates: 1955 - present
    • JSTOR  Icon
      A multi-disciplinary archival collection of full-text scholarly journal articles. Type chem* to find the words chemist and chemical. Use quotes, "whooping cough", so the terms are searched as a phrase. Under the advanced search, check mark articles to limit to scholarly articles.
      Coverage Dates: - Varies by Journal
    • Project Muse  Icon
      Interdisciplinary collection of full-text, peer reviewed journals. Type chem* to find the words chemist and chemical. Use quotes, "Linus Pauling", so the terms are searched as a phrase. Use parentheses to search for multiple concepts ("biological sciences" or "physical sciences") and history. Use the limit to articles on the Advanced Article Search page.
      Coverage Dates: - Varies by journal
    • Google Scholar  Icon
      Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers. Some articles are available in full-text. If the full-text is not available check OSU Libraries Catalog for print. If not available, request it from InterLibrary Loan. Use quotes, "Linus Pauling", so the terms are searched as a phrase.
      Coverage Dates: coverage range - unknown
    • Academic Search Premier  Icon
      A multi-disciplinary database indexing citations and full-text scholarly and non-scholarly articles. Click Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals to limit your search. Type chem* to find the words chemist and chemical. Use quotes, "Linus Pauling", so terms are searched as a phrase.
      Coverage Dates: 1975 - present
     

    Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

    Encyclopedias and dictionaries are a useful place to gather background information on your topic. Try these recommended titles.

    American Men and Women of Science: A Biographical Directory of Today's Leaders in Physical, Biological, and Related Sciences. This is a cumulative dictionary, so check the older print voumes shelved at this call number: Q141 .C2. Some years are shelved in compact shelving and some in storage.

    Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography Biographical information about scientists.

    Dictionary of American History Describes events and puts events in historical context, includes bibliographies and photos.

    Search the library catalog, for more encyclopedias

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip