This is the "Quick Links" page of the "OSU Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

OSU Archives  

This guide provides information about the OSU Archives, including our mission, collecting focus, research tutorials, subject guides, contact information, and hours.
Last Updated: Aug 26, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/subject-guide/1206-OSU-Archives Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Quick Links Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What do we collect?

We collect, maintain, preserve, and make the historical records of OSU available to researchers.

The University Archives is the repository for official and unofficial records that document OSU's history. Our collections include historical records of enduring value generated by faculty, academic departments, administrative offices, students, and campus organizations.

 

Wondering where to start historical research?

Does starting your research seem a little daunting? Need a little help picking a place to start? We have some ideas to get you started...

 

 

History in all shapes & sizes

Remember that primary sources are characterized by their content rather than their format. So you might find collections with paper, glass lantern slides, microfilm or microfiche, born digital records, or a scholarly journal with the collector's scribbles in the margins.

When you open a box in Special Collections and Archives you might find:

  • Paper documents created by OSU departments
  • Photographs from student organizations
  • The Barometer in a big bound book or on a reel of microfilm
  • Letters from faculty
  • Souvenirs like programs and buttons from sporting events
  • Research journals
  • Maps, blueprints, and plans for campus buildings
  • Recordings and transcripts of oral history interviews
  • Films of events from OSU's communications office
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip