LibGuides: ANTH 482/582: Anthropology of International Development: Quick Start

Suggested Databases

Depending on your research subject, a variety of databases--anthropology, news, business, trade--may prove useful. Here are a few suggestions.

STAT-USA (with National Trade Data Bank) ceased publication in 2010. For information on U.S. domestic and foreign economic data; import and export statistics; etc. it is now necessary to go to individual sources, see: STAT-USA Data Sources.

Web of Science
The web version of Science Citation Index (SCI) and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Science Citation Index 1970-present
Social Science Citation Index 1970-present

Concurrent Users: unlimited
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Abstracts in Anthropology This link opens in a new window
An indispensable reference and research tool for all aspects of anthropology. No full text.
Coverage Dates: 2002 - present
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Full text access to 32 AAA journals.
Coverage Dates: 1972 - present

PAIS
The PAIS International database covers a broad array of public policy subjects including international relations, science and technology, and social conditions. PAIS also includes historical topical coverage on events such as watergate, the cold war, and the women's movement. The index covers journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
Coverage Dates: 1915 - present

Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 3,300 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1000 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 300 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1886. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

Concurrent Users: unlimited
Coverage Dates: 1886 - present
Environment & Energy Publishing This link opens in a new window
The subscription includes five daily online publications covering energy, environmental and climate policy: Environment & Energy Daily, Greenwire, ClimateWire, Land Letter and E&E News PM!
Coverage Dates: 2007 -
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Answers environmentally-related inquiries with coverage of more than 3.3 million articles from more than 700 journals and reference content from Delmar, Cengage Learning. Robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Coverage Dates: 1980 - present

Country Information

Country Studies from the Library of Congress

The World Factbook from the CIA

Countries and Regions from the World Bank

Online Resources

Here is a small sample of the resources available online:

World Health Organization (WHO)

Includes statistics, information about programs, publications and media.

The WWW Virtual Library: International Development

U.S. State Department Background Notes - include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.

Center for Global Development is an independent, nonprofit policy research organization that is dedicated to reducing global poverty and inequality and to making globalization work for the poor through a combination of research and strategic outreach.

United Nations - Human Development Reports

United Nations Development Programme (works best in IE)

PressDisplay
online access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. The service also provides a 60-day backfile and the ability to perform keyword searches within any issue. Newspapers are in their original language. Coverage Dates: - Most recent 60 days

Annotated Bibliographies

Graduate students in this class will be required to write an annotated bibliography. For help with this, please see the online handout from the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL), "Annotated Bibliographies." http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/01/

Style and Citation Guides

There is a Writing Guide for the Anthropology Department on their website. Several databases have citation help built in. Be careful, however, because these are not 100% accurate--always check your citation carefully before including it.

You can also buy software to help you track your research and create bibliographies.Check out:

Refworks (http://www.refworks.com/)
EndNote (http://www.endnote.com/)
EndNote has a web version, too: http://www.endnoteweb.com/enwebhome.asp) Free to OSU students.
Zotero - a free citation management plug-in for Firefox

Libraries

ANTH 482/582: Anthropology of International Development: Quick Start

Suggested Databases

Country Information

Online Resources

Annotated Bibliographies

Style and Citation Guides

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches