LibGuides: *History of Science*: Find Articles and Secondary Sources

Start Broadly - 1Search

Find books, online scholarly articles or newspaper articles that OSU subscribes to. If you need to find specific items, such as books by a particular author, use the advanced search option for more precise searching. Access 1Search from the library's home page.

Summit Borrowing

You can borrow books from Summit libraries and have them sent to one of the OSU Libraries.

To search Summit, choose the OSU Libraries + Summit scope from the drop-down menu.

To request an item from Summit, click on the Availability and Request Options tab.

To see which libraries own the item, click on the Summit Libraries(n) link. The (n) indicates the number of libraries that own the item.

To request the item, click on the Place Summit request link and fill in the form. Click on Request.

You will be notified via email when you item has arrived and is available for pick-up.

Find Scholarly Journal Articles

In general, start your searching with just one or two keywords. Add more as needed.
Be sure to try your topic in more than one database.
Read citations and abstracts to get ideas of different keywords to represent your topic.
If the full text of the article, is not available, click to check if OSU subscribes to the journal or to place an interlibrary loan request (ILL).

America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,800 journals, full-text for 200 journals, and 80 ebooks this database is the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts with Full Text is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,500 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1863, 380 full-text journals, and 140 full-text ebooks. For Canadian and United States history, use the America: History and Life database.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archival collection of journal articles that includes titles in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. It does not provide access to the most current issues of the journals. JSTOR's agreements with publishers include a gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years. OSU Libraries subscribes to all JSTOR Archive Collections, JSTOR Primary Sources Collections, and JSTOR Global Plants.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press in collaboration with the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at John Hopkins University, Project MUSE is an interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Uses the Google search engine to search for scholarly materials from around the world such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Some articles are available in full-text through links to OSU's journal subscriptions.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.