Skip to main content
Oregon State University OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY

OSU Libraries

OSU Queer Archives (OSQA): CONTRIBUTE TO OSQA

Archival collections and materials in the university's archives that document LGBTQ+ histories at Oregon State, Corvallis, and Benton County

Adding Materials to OSQA

Are you or have you been a member or leader of an LGBTQ+ organization in Corvallis/Benton County?

Are you or do you know LGBTQ+ OSU students, faculty, or alumni interested in sharing their stories?

Do you have materials created by LGBTQ+ organizations at OSU or in Corvallis/Benton County?

Do you have ideas for how the archives can document OSU, Corvallis, and Benton County LGBTQ+ histories?

If you answered "yes" to any of these questions, the archives is actively seeking materials to add to the OSU Queer Archives collection, so if you have ideas and/or content, please contact us!

Historical Materials

The Special Collections and Archival Research Center (SCARC) is interested in working with students and local community members to gather materials related to LGBTQ+ histories in Corvallis and surrounding areas. For example, SCARC looks for items that document: 

  • The history and development of the OSU LGBTQ+ groups and organizations
  • LGBTQ+ traditions in Corvallis and at OSU
  • The missions and policies of local LGBTQ+ groups and organizations
  • Significant programs, activities, and events 
  • Student activism relating to LGBTQ+ issues
  • Outreach efforts and community involvement

Preserving LGBTQ+ History

  • Document the activities of your LGBTQ+ group or organization. This might mean keeping minutes of meetings, saving copies of publications and flyers, and organizing your photographs.
  • Develop a straightforward filing system that works for you. Have a strategy for organizing paper and electronic records. It can be as simple as starting putting things in file folders. 
  • Label your materials/folders with full names, dates, and descriptions of events or circumstances. 
  • Use good naming conventions for electronic records -- we avoid "IMAGE0001.JPG" and so should you. 
  • Keep records together in one central place. Back-up your files and talk about off-site server storage.
  • Keep records safe. Store them away from dampness, dust, excessive heat, and sun.
  • Remember your non-paper documents. Electronic records can pose software and hardware access problems. Save compact discs, memorabilia, photographs, posters, and tapes, as well as traditional paper documents. Contact Natalia for help an advice with maintaining and transferring electronic files.
  • WHEN IN DOUBT, DON'T THROW IT OUT! Natalia can help you decide what to keep and what to toss, so ask for guidance.

What Kinds of Records Would Qualify for the Archive?

Examples of Archival Records

  • Constitutions and bylaws 
  • Member handbooks and policy statements 
  • Meeting minutes and supporting documentation 
  • Reports or key financial documentation 
  • Organizational histories, reference files, or research material for your group 
  • Websites, blogs, and other social media (Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Flickr) 
  • Newsletters, fliers, brochures, posters, press releases, and other publications 
  • Photographs, scrapbooks, clippings, audio recordings, and video 
  • Correspondence that documents programs, activities, and events 

 

Examples of non-Archival Records

  • Active records you regularly refer to conduct your business 
    ​(These should be kept u
    ntil they are no longer active and you are ready to transfer them to us!)
  • Duplicate copies of publications published by your organization 
    (We’ll keep two copies at most)
  • University-wide memos or announcements, unless they relate directly to the group or events in which the groups participated or organized 
  • Artifacts like trophies or award plaques 
  • Routine correspondence like requests and acknowledgments 
  • Routine financial documents like receipts, purchase orders, canceled checks 
  • Blank forms, letterhead, or other stationery